One Month In

A sometimes graphic tale of gender confirmation surgery.

Brook Shelley
5 min readSep 25, 2017
Enjoying a coffee after a hilly walk (11 days post-surgery)

For many trans folks, surgery of some type is a hard-won dream, or an impossible hope. With some private and public insurance in places like Oregon and California now requiring coverage for trans surgeries, this dream is becoming real for many folks who previously couldn’t afford the up to twenty-thousand dollar procedures. I was lucky enough to have insurance that covered my surgery.

On August 30th, I flew to the Bay Area to get surgery, and the first few days here were just fun with friends, buying the recommended prep items, vitamins, and food for my recovery time. I’d settled on renting an apartment for a month, and had a surgery care day survey for my friends to ensure I’d have company often.

The day before surgery was very unpleasant. Something you don’t realize until you’re close to surgery is that anything in any part of your digestive tract can become a deadly complication when you’re unconscious and under anesthetic for over four hours. So, you have to clean the pipes. Magnesium citrate, ducolax, and two fleet enemas later, I didn’t know I could use the bathroom that many times in 24 hours. I stayed with my date, and cried a bit about the discomfort. The morning of surgery, we drove across the bay, and I changed into my gown, climbed into bed, and pretty promptly…

--

--