T.G.I.F: How Millennials Treated Time In The 90’s vs. Quarantine

Brittany Talissa King
Digital Diplomacy
Published in
8 min readJul 26, 2020

--

In 1999, like most baby millennials, our parents dictated the family television.

In my Midwestern home, I woke up to Katie Couric and Matt Lauer’s news reports on Today before school. After I returned home, the ritual continued. As mom prepared dinner, usually a meatloaf, buttery mashed potatoes, and a side of green beans- I’d see dad watching Pat Sajak on the Wheel of Fortune while Vanna White turned random letters in a glittery dress. Johnny Gilbert would introduce the iconic “Alex Trebek!” and then there was Regis Philbin’s rhetorical question: “Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?”

And to avoid hearing the arbitrary sentence “go do your homework,” I’d hurry the telephone gossip with Taryn, feed my Tamagotchis, then grab my Lisa Frank folders and spread school over the floor, like Couric’s notes on her morning desk.

My older sister and younger brother also academically busied themselves near the TV-a tactic which managed to work until 9pm, where the night usually ended with some comedy.

All five of us would watch Jay Leno talk to famous guests like Dennis Rodman, Stevie Martin and Melissa Joan Hart. With the occasional brag about his vintage car collection, he’d do so while wearing an all jean ensemble- very…

--

--

Brittany Talissa King
Digital Diplomacy

Writer/Journalist. I explore race relations, social issues, & social media through history and pop-culture. IG: @b.talissa X: @KingTalissa, Journalism MA — NYU.