I WANT TO BE DORIE CLARK.

Bruce Turkel
3 min readFeb 3, 2021

Dorie Clark is my idol. Dorie is who I want to be when I grow up.

There. I said it. Now you know the truth.

Want to see who I’ll be twenty years from now? Just check out Dorie today.

No no no, don’t bother your head with pesky little discrepancies such as the fact that Dorie is younger than me. Or that Dorie has a Master of Theological Studies from Harvard Divinity School and I have a design degree from the University of Florida. Or that Dorie is an executive education professor at Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business and I’m not.

None of those roadblocks will dissuade me from my destiny. I have seen my future and it is Dorie.

Why am I so enamored of my friend and everything she’s accomplished? Because Dorie is the living embodiment of my belief that people don’t choose what you do, they chose who you are.

What does Dorie actually do? Here is just a small list copied and pasted directly from Wikipedia:

“Dorie Clark has guest-lectured and taught at universities around the world, including Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts; IE Business School in Madrid, Spain; and the Moscow School of Management SKOLKOVO in Moscow, Russia. She has also spoken at the U.S. Library of Congress.

--

--

Bruce Turkel

Drawing from 30+ years of experience, Bruce helps his clients understand how to make their brands relevant and how to differentiate themselves from competitors.