Death isn’t Always Bad

Bryan Sumardi
2 min readMay 16, 2019

--

When you hear or think about death, do you have negative thoughts?

Why?

One day in San Diego I walked to the edge of a cliff. I found some writing engraved in the cliff (photo above).

“Depart to arrive”

At this point I realized something. I needed to kill myself in order to recreate myself. I was at a point where I was happy, but complacent. I was stuck. I felt dead inside.

After a couple months, big changes started to happen. My relationship of over three years ended. I developed a life threatening condition and ended up moving back in with one of my parents.

I could have went into the fetal position and sulk over all of these things, but I didn’t. I didn’t even think about it like that at all. I literally almost died! Mentally I was empty. All these things coming together helped me realize who really mattered to me as well as WHAT really matters to me.

So I honed in on those people and things. I started to read and learn from people that interest me. I surrounded myself with people and things that push me forward. I recently watched an interview about the correlation between finance and age. By age 45, on average most people make their maximum amount annual until they decline around age 65.

The interview also talked about the top 1%-ers. These people exponentially grow as their lives grow financially. The thing that caught my attention was that these people who are the 1%ers is that they constantly were recreating themselves. They developed skills that automates and improves their life and the lives of others.

I may not be where I want to be, but I know my mind is right. My cyclical life model has given me a personal philosophy and something to believe in when I’m down. I have given meaning to my life and don’t need to rely on another to be happy. I’m here to say Death isn’t always bad. We all have a point of view.

How would you describe your life story? Would that story be worth telling and are you okay with that?

--

--

Bryan Sumardi

Former US marine reservist (Sergeant), personal trainer, host of “The Catch Up” podcast on YouTube and iTunes,www.bryansumardi.com