James Dong
1 min readJun 8, 2016

--

Thanks for responding! I’ve received a lot of feedback on this, I think the issue is that I need to sit down with an actual developer and see how they do it. Here’s an example of what keeps happening to me. Let’s say I’m writing a method that sends out a Google Calendar invite. Following TDD I might write a test that checks the right parameters are being passed to this method, which would be email, start time, end time, contents, address, etc. Then I will write the code. But in the middle of writing code, I’ll realize that I don’t want email to be passed to the method; instead I want an user ID to be passed so that the method can take that user ID and look up the user’s email. So then I’ll have to edit the test again. Does that make sense what I’m saying? I think I haven’t trained my brain yet to think in this way or… something.

--

--

James Dong

Does ‘buying’ have to be the economic bedrock? What are alternative models that are more productive & equitable? Formerly @BainandCompany & @Cal