IPv6 With Ubiquiti USG and AT&T fiber.

Travis Stevens
3 min readMay 10, 2019

--

Ubiquiti Logo

In anticipation of moving to a new home, I am in the process of setting up and testing a new home network. This home has not been wired for the heavy Internet usage it will get. It will have one person that is working fully remote and host Goto Meetings all day. The builder sells it as a SmartHome but they only run three ethernet lines. These lines for PoE wireless access points. I did not care for their selection of access points so I am replacing them at move in with Ubiquiti AP. The new home network will consist, of Ubiquiti Wireless access points, switches, CloudKey, and the USG gateway. I will be moving my current provider (AT&T) to the new house.

One thing that I like to play with is getting IPv6 setup correctly. In the past, I used a Ubiquiti Edge router lite and managed to get it to correctly work with IPv6 after a lot of web searches and a few failed attempts. I even had to factory reset my router at one point. I have a fairly small and simple network at my apartment so this was not a big deal.

The biggest problem I have encountered in the past with the EdgeRouter was assigning the IPv6 DNS servers. It would always assign the one that AT&T delegated to my device. This always made my IPv6 setup slow. The first time I tried this Facebook would always take a long time to load until it failed back to IPv4. Their DNS server seemed to get better a few months later, but I still wanted to assign a different DNS to my IPv6 clients. I never figured out how to do this on the Edgerouter Lite.

This weekend I went to my local computer store and picked up some Ubiquiti gear. I am fortunate that it carries a lot of their products. After spending a little while configuring my cloud key I was able to get into the Network configuration. The Ubiquiti configuration utility is pretty easy to use. I got my IPv4 configuration setup and started testing. My new network was performing just as well as my old network. I am not using IDS on the UDS device. According to the documentation, it will slow the network way down.

Once I had all of the basic stuff setup I started looking into IPv6. in the controller console, it shows IPv6 as in Alpha on the LAN side. First I went into the WAN setting and enabled IPv6.

Setting > Networks > WAN > IPV6

From the previous setup, I changed the Connection Type to “Using DHCPv6” and set the Prefix Delegation Size to 64. This setting can vary by provider, but from talking with AT&T support in the past this is the setting they gave me. I gave my USG a few minutes to configure and then check my network setting on my computer and it did not have a IPv6 address. So I went into the LAN settings

Setting > Network > LAN > Configure IPV6 Network (Alpha)

This setting is in Alpha release. I selected Prefix Delegation and the Interface WAN. According to the documents I found nothing needed to be entered in the Prefix ID field. I left everything else default. Saves the changes and after a few minutes IPv6 addresses were showing up in my computer settings. It was still using the AT&T DNS so I looked at the setting and there is a setting for DHCPv6/RDNSS DNS Control. setting that to manual you can then enter your preferred DNS servers in the fields below it. I entered Googles servers and saves Again. A Few minutes later my computer had the DNS servers I wanted and my IPv6 test worked.

IPv6 was way easier to set up on the USG than the EdgeRouter.

--

--