CS373 Fall 2022: Vu Bui Blog #10

Vu Bui
2 min readOct 30, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week I went to a friend’s birthday party and it was a lot of fun. I also worked on the phase 3 of the IDB project with my partner, specifically the database and how to connect it to our back end. We used postgreSQL, Flask, and myAlchemy.

What’s in your way?

The project is due soon and we still have a lot of things to figure out. I hope we will have something solid soon and will be able to turn the project in on time.

What will you do next week?

I will continue to work on the project and figure how to get the “end points” and “routes” to work properly. I also have a compilers test on Thursday so I will be studying for that. There is a lot of things on my plate right now so I hope that everything will works out at the end.

What did you think of Paper 10: Why getter and setter methods are evil?

I thought that the paper was interesting. I had never given much through to the impact of having too many classes dependent on each other, but after reading the paper the idea of dependency inversion makes a lot of sense and is something that I will work on implementing into my own projects.

What was your experience of the cross join, theta join, and natural join?

These joins are very interesting. It allows us to create comparisons and contrasts of different relations. I also enjoy how before an introduction of a new join, the professor always shows us the different ways we could implement the same relational operator.

What made you happy this week?

I went to a friend’s birthday party and it was a lot of fun. Hanging out with a bunch of friends is always a good way to get that stress off and prepare you better for a brand new week.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Our group used Notion to keep track of the things that we still need to do. Notion is a great way to stay on track and help keep everyone involved. Since there are many things to do for the project, using Notion help keeps your team to work more efficiently.

--

--