We Can Heal the World with this one Simple Prayer/Mantra! Call me Naive, but it ALL begins with Me! Try it!

Tony Fernandez
6 min readNov 14, 2016

--

I was having a conversation with a good friend a few weeks back and we were talking about the phrase, “I will pray for you,” and how many people take offense to these seemingly benign words. I am not a religious person, but instead practice a form of hybrid “spirituality,” which seems to stem from a combination of all the good parts of ALL religions and Spiritual practices. All it really is, is understanding that the core tenets of all religions and spiritual practices are Love and Compassion. Seems so simple really.

I pray. I have no problem with saying the word prayer or praying. To me, prayer is just sending love out to the world, asking for guidance, or in many cases, setting intentions for better behaviors. To me prayers are an act of guidance by whatever energies rule the universe, to just be of the highest ultimate vibration of my best self and to offer the utmost service and love to EVERYONE I meet.

In the same conversation mentioned above, my friend was mentioning how if we just took the words, “I will pray for you,” and changed them to, “Sending you good energy,” “Sending you good Vibes,” or “Sending you love and peace,” the same people who took offense, would gladly accept these seemingly pleasant gestures from anyone, even a complete stranger. Funny huh?

This week, post-election, the world has witnessed a wide array of emotions and behaviors. Anywhere from elated to fatalistic. That’s okay. We all need time to process change. Being in fear, from the little I know, is an instinct that is somewhat necessary for our “fight or flight” responses to anything that might actually hurt us. But it seems our brains have developed at an accelerated pace and continue to do so with all the technology and knowledge we are being exposed to, but we still can’t escape our innate reaction to “run” anytime things seem bad, or “fight,” which seems to be all the time in my Facebook feed.

I think a lot of this fear and anger can be alleviated when we decide to stop letting politicians and the media govern our lives. I am not saying we need to be in a state of anarchy, but I think we can be much more productive humans if we decide to change our behavior, and then take this new hopefully more loving and compassionate behavior, out into the world with us.

Something I have always wondered is, “ Why in a world full of so many religious people, do we not use the power of prayer or good vibes to heal the rift that divides people everywhere?” We don’t just have to pray or send good vibes to the people we like, right?

One of the most valuable lessons I have learned in life is how powerful it can be to pray for my “enemies.” Because by “sending good vibes” to people you would rather see fall off the face of the earth, you begin to make yourself much more compassionate,understanding, and loving towards what they might be going through. Don’t expect anything in return for the Love that you give out, and you will be okay. I don’t want to set you up for more anger and more resentments. But, I can guarantee that if you “Lead with Love,” you are more than likely going to change more people with your actions than with any angry or hateful words. Well, you can change people with the latter, but it won’t be for the good of the planet.

With this being said I am going to try walking the walk. This is for me and this is my opinion. The way everyone is reacting to all things “Worldly” right now, is the way they are supposed to react. Remember, we are perfect unique human beings and everything that is happening at this exact moment is supposed to happen. I believe that if we flood the world with acts of Love and Compassion, using social media and other channels to accelerate people seeing these acts, then we can change the world quite rapidly.

With this being said, I am a bleeding-heart liberal, and here is my prayer/good vibes/sending love message, for our leaders, today and tomorrow’s, and the world.

Dear Universe (God or higher power-doesn’t matter what you want to put here),

I am sending Lots of Love out into the Beautiful World Today. Please put me in all the places I need to be, to be of utmost service to the betterment of all humans. Please help me to act with Love and Compassion towards everyone I meet, regardless of their gender, skin color, ethnic background, money situation, political parties, country, sports team affiliation, or anything else that might be used on this Earth to create a segregation between me an my fellow man. Please remove judgement from my heart. Send Love to the hearts of ALL the leaders on our planet that they me also govern with Love and Compassion over all the people who they might hold governance over. Send Love to President Obama, Kim Jong-un, Bashar al-Assad, President Elect Donald Trump, Mike Pence, Vladimir Putin, Justin Trudeau, Queen Elizabeth, Al Bashir, Mauricio Macri, Pranab Mukherjee, Pope Francis, Dalai Lama, Ashraf Ghani, and every other leader, celebrity, parent or anyone else who holds influence, especially influence over children. Be with ALL the people in our seemingly divide country. People who are really just trying to achieve the same common goal of happiness, love, and security. Let them know that these can all be attained without putting anyone down, harming anyone, or segregating people who are seemingly “different.” Wrap every ruler on this Earth in Love and help them to lead with love and compassion. Help them find real freedom in their own personal lives, so they can pass this on in the form of Love to everyone in the lands in which they live. And if they are not leading with love, please open their hearts to the opportunity to change. Wherever there is suffering, please let it be as minimal as possible. The world needs less suffering and it begins with me to help bring relief to any of those who suffer, if I can. Please fill and empower all our hearts and minds with the knowledge that we can end suffering for all human beings, if we understand that we are complete and perfect, and that there is enough for ALL human beings if we work together. Help me to understand that abundance is everywhere and in everything, beginning with the billions of cells in my body, the hairs on my head, the pieces of knowledge and memory in my immense brain. Please also send LOVE to all the BEING on this Earth, human, animal, and plant. May we respect every life, regardless of size or perceived significance. WE are all meant to be here together. Please stop greed from inducing over reliance and poaching. Please help us all to honor the animals of this earth.

If I say this prayer everyday, the world can and will change. Because it all begins with me. Guide me and protect me as I fulfill my mission here on this earth to make it a better place, understanding that this will take time, but the more people who understand that LOVE heals and builds bridges, and ends suffering, will make this happen more quickly. Maybe even tomorrow! Amen

I ask that you open your heart and consider saying this prayer/mantra every day. If you said this prayer every day you will see a transformation in your mind. A prayer is really only a conversation that you are having with the “God” inside each and every one of you. Because weren’t we ALL created in “His Image.” Doesn’t the Universe really reside in each and every one of us? We are only here for a short amount of time. What we learn and our perspective is uniquely our own. When we are gone, it does with us. Why not leave Love when we pass on? What are you really afraid of?

RIP beautiful Hope

--

--

Tony Fernandez

A #Poet who loves the power of #Socialmedia. Habitual #volunteer. Being the change. Working at being the most positive and Green person on the planet.