My first Codemotion

Angela Busato
3 min readOct 22, 2022

--

One word to explain it. Amazing!! I loved it. Codemotion is a two days event of talks about IT, AI, technology, front-end, back-end, open source, business, and so on. It’s an event for developers and also for curious people. If you are a little bit interested in this world, this is the perfect place where to discover it. It’s possible to participate in excellent talks, share your experiences with others like you, meet people, and learn new things. I’m a shy person but in this event, I found a safe place where I was able to share my work and my experiences with other people.

About the Codemotion team, I appreciated a lot the organization of the event, from the beginning to the end. The team created a mobile app to check the agenda of the event, and it allowed you to build your personal agenda with the talks of your interest. Also, the application was good to follow and interact with people at the event. I liked the attention to detail, like that all the drinks and food were served in compostable boxes and glasses.

Last but not least, I enjoyed the talks very much. With good organization, I was able to participate in many talks, one for each hour, more or less. I found a common thread in these presentations, all of them show the importance of the responsibility that we have as developers. We couldn’t just develop an application without thinking about the impact of the application on people, for example, we have to think if the application is accessible to everyone (talk of Anuradha Kumari), or if it is simple to use. Or the environmental impact (talk of Lorenzo Pieri), is the application sustainable? Is it safe for the world? Or the impact that the application could have on the browser (talk of Francesco Sciuti) Is the application well developed to be easily loaded from the browser? I found these talks very useful to build a good application with a low impact on our system. I appreciated the talk about ethics because it made me think about what is important to me, what am I willing to do, what I want to reach when I code, and how I behave in front of a code ethical choice. I think it is important to be aware of what we are doing, and what will be the use of the application, not just develop it in a mechanical way.

Open source was the topic that I appreciated the most because I think it’s important to continue to contribute to improving the community and to give more people the possibility to access code to create solid and better projects. I think that the perfect sentence that sums it up is “Open source benefits everyone” said Emma Twersky.

After two days of this beautiful event, I come back home with a lot of things to think about, and as Michele Riva said at the keynote end of the event “To find my purpose and to create my opportunity”.

Thank you to Codemotion Team, I hope this was the first of many other events, and thank you to all speakers and people that I met in this event, it was amazing.

--

--