Little Wins, May 2024

Button Kin Games
3 min readMay 17, 2024

--

Where’ve I been, eh? Did I give up? Move away? Change my name and start a new life as a used car salesperson? No, no, nope. On the contrary, I’ve been fighting to keep up with my TTRPG work while being assailed on all sides by life stuff. It’s all very heroic. What do you mean, you didn’t notice?

More to the point, the TTRPG stuff I’ve managed to squeeze in has largely been to do with my “home” games or, in an exciting new development, paid work on other people’s projects. That’s right: I’m for hire now. Form an orderly queue.

While I haven’t been told I shouldn’t talk about those other projects, it does feel like I oughtn’t. So I shan’t. If you’re curious about my home game stuff, here are the highlights:

  • I closed out Curse of Strahd with a group I’ve been playing with for 18 months. This is my first completed campaign as a player character and it was emotional.
  • I ran a one-shot game for my dad and his friends for his birthday. He loved it and wants to play again — a big personal win for me.
  • My homebrew campaign is deep into its third year and we’ve started to approach some endgame arcs. With some big final show-downs needing to be planned I’m SO KEEN not to drop the ball now. Keen and petrified.

And then day-job work has been gnarly AF. And, oh, we started fostering dogs in March. We’ve had two foster assignments so far and I don’t know if you know what it’s like settling a new dog into your home, but doing that twice in three months has been… something. Worth it, certainly. But something.

Somewhere in between all of this I did manage to plot and scheme some upcoming things.

UKGE! I’ll be attending a small shindig called UK Games Expo in Birmingham this June. Don’t know if you’ve heard of it? I’ll be working the TIN stall on Saturday from 12–6pm, mongering a wide selection of our members’ games. Come say hey and get yourself a bargain bundle of cool zines.

Pictures of all the panelists for the Comedy in Games panel at UKGE. Grant Howitt is a white man with short brown hair and thick rimmed glasses. John Gracey is a white man wearing a hooded cloak and looking mysterious. Yvris Burke (that’s me) is a white woman with short brown hair and red lipstick. Ed Jollyboat is a white person with long brown hair and a beard. There’s an additional thumbnail showing a silhouette of a person with a question mark representing the mystery guest.

UKGE again! While I’m at the expo-thingy-whatsit I’ve been asked to be on my first panel! Saturday, 6.30pm at the Meeple Theatre, myself, Grant Howitt (Honey Heist, Spire, Heart), Jon Gracey (No Rolls Barred, Werewolf Live), and a mystery special guest will be chatting about comedy in games with Ed Jollyboat. How did I get on that list? Yeah. I have frankly NO IDEA.

UKGE again-again! Not content with shoving my face in everyone’s faces (metaphorically, calm down) all Saturday, I’ll be running some games on Sunday. Specifically play tests of Three Sails Studios’ upcoming ecology and exploration TTRPG, Mappa Mundi. Come along and try your hand at saving the world by chronicling its weird, enigmatic and magical monsters. No combat, all awestruck wonder and collaborative world building. You’ll love it, you.

--

--

Button Kin Games

Indie TTRPG creator in Manchester, UK. Maker of Bumbling, Drama Llamas, and coming soon: Jude's World.