Continuing the Learning Journey: Navigating TechFWD’s Content Marketing Program

Sarah Noonan
2 min readDec 17, 2021

--

One of my intentions in writing is to showcase valuable resources I’ve discovered within my own professional development. For the first of these features, I compiled a list of recommended online courses for those interested in fostering understanding of data and programming. This next post highlights my experience completing a sequence of content marketing coursework through a program offered within my community earlier this year, whose material you can access free courtesy of providers HubSpot and SEMrush Academies. Happy learning!

The inbound methodology pioneered by HubSpot and outlined in its Academy coursework.

My professional journey has led full circle toward arenas of digital content development explored early in my career. As I’ve sought to focus on opportunities within marketing and consumer analysis, I’ve realized a need to refresh my knowledge of how such domains are and continue to be shaped by online platforms like Facebook, Twitter and countless others that continue to emerge. Like many I suspect, especially those in my age group who can recall using Facebook via their school email address, I was previously an early adopter of social media but a combination of security concerns, polarizing content and overall fatigue have led me to largely abandon these channels in recent years. As I’ve reentered these online spaces with professional intentions, I’ve sought to do so with the guidance of best practices for navigating these often murky waters.

It was with these aims that, upon learning of a month-long Content Marketing program provided free by my city, I jumped at the opportunity to complete the four-week curriculum addressing the inbound marketing framework and its applications within social media, email campaigns and search engine optimization. The material we covered is available to anyone at no cost via the HubSpot and SEMrush Academy programs and highly recommended to anyone working in or seeking to work in these arenas. (If the thought of completing four courses feels overwhelming, start with the Inbound Marketing course to develop a conceptual framework and focus subsequently on material related to the tools most relevant and/or interesting to you.) You can even complete an exam at the end of each course to earn credential-enhancing certifications.

The coursework was immensely beneficial for the knowledge gained, much of which I’ve utilized in developing my online presence. The TechFWD program provided added benefits of a shared learning environment and opportunities to network and build relationships, which I’ll expand upon further in future posts. For these reasons, I hope communities worldwide will launch similar initiatives and find this perspective valuable in pursuing such endeavors.

--

--

Sarah Noonan

Founder, SarNDipity Solutions. Sharing thoughts on marketing, tech & personal growth. Medium Partner. sarndipitysolutions.com