An honest CV Opinion of mine.

Osarodion Obayiuwana
1 min readNov 23, 2017

--

Ever wondered what to say when discussing weaknesses in an application form? Ever just wanted to write “Weaknesses? nah g”, or simply just tired of writing “Pay too much attention to detail”? Then we’re in the same boat babe.

Well I’m against “masking” strengths as weaknesses in application forms and won’t be surprised if you are too. I mean, can you really say “devotes too much time to work” isn’t you just saying “Very hardworking and dedicated”.

Hey, employers know there’s no superman or captain calabar, so why lie?

Well here’s some of my fav (which I just did the research for) genuine weaknesses, and guidelines on when to use them:

  1. “Not skilled at delegating tasks” is excellent for an entry level
  2. “Lack of *certain* experience” great again for entry roles
  3. “Mastering foreign languages" also an excellent filler
  4. “Creative Writing” excellent if you’re applying to be an in-house accountant. Nobody wants creativity there I guess 😌
  5. “Sometimes overly pragmatic” this is great in general, every team needs a pragmatist to keep them in check but could be genuinely problematic.

I honestly would’ve included more but I could only put the ones I’m sure most Nigerian employers will overlook or even be encouraged by, visit The Balance for more

Here’s another article that includes trick questions employers use to find your weaknesses Big Interview.

Never forget, honesty is the best policy.

Thank me Later.

--

--