Day 9 — January 24, 2017: Connect, Grow, Serve & Go!

Christ Centered Church
4 min readJan 24, 2017

--

During our 2nd week of prayer and fasting, let’s focus our prayers inward for our church. Let’s pray for Christ Centered Church as well as the individuals who are a part of it. Today’s devotional was written by Oscar Morejon.

Him we proclaim, warning everyone and teaching everyone with all wisdom, that we may present everyone mature in Christ. For this I toil, struggling with all his energy that he powerfully works within me. Colossians 1:28–29

Yesterday, we thought about our mission and prayed that God would use us to see people come to know Christ and grow to maturity in Him. Our strategy as a church comes directly from our mission found in Colossians 1:28–29. We use the words Connect, Grow, Serve and this year we are adding Go. Today I want to explain what this means to us as a church and explain how it applies to all of our lives.

Connect- We connect with God through our Sunday worship gatherings. Does this mean we don’t connect with God during the week? Of course not. Our worship begins long before we meet on Sunday mornings — we must connect with God through our personal and family worship throughout the week. Then, when we come together in worship gatherings, we can worship God together just like Romans 15:6–7 describes:

Together you may with one voice glorify the God and the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, welcome one another as Christ has welcomed you, for the glory of God.”

We must continue welcoming each other and worshiping together as we connect to God.

Grow- We grow through C2 Groups. I remember when I first started going to church. I felt like God was all I could think about. Since then, I have seen my personal walk with Christ grow so much. Colossians 2:6–7 says

Therefore, as you received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in him, rooted and built up in him and established in the faith, just as you were taught, abounding in thanksgiving.

The Bible uses the metaphor of a walk to describe our journey as Christ followers. Today, I urge you to stand and walk, deeply rooted in Him and with your brothers/sisters in Christ. C2 Groups are designed to create Christ Centered Community which has three characteristics: Christ Centered teaching, Christ Centered relationships, and Christ Centered mission. Living deeply rooted in community is the way Christ intended us to live. If you don’t attend a group, start going and if it’s too far or the time doesn’t work for you, then talk with one of our pastors about getting a new group started in your area. Let God work in your life. Grow in him!

Serve- We serve through Dream Team. God has been so clear to me on how he wants me to serve Him and His people. The thought of serving or volunteering my time on Sundays used to be completely impossible for me to fathom. I felt like I did not know God enough or I was not good enough to serve on the Dream Team. Now, the Lord has taught me that serving others is a way of serving Him, and I don’t have to be perfect to serve! It can be as simple as opening a door for someone or greeting someone when they get to church. God wants to use us and our talents to bring hope, love, and Jesus to the lives of those around us. Let God use your talents for the kingdom.

Go- We go through Love Louds and missions. We recently added “Go” to our Church strategy. Matthew 28:19 says

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you.

Sometimes going means passing out water in the name of Jesus, and sometimes going means jumping on a plane for an international mission trip. God has so clearly called us to Go and make disciples among all nations. As a church in Miami, we have the beautiful opportunity and privilege to have all nations within minutes of us. God wants to use C2 Church, and He wants to use you! Pray and see where God wants to take you and Go!

No matter who you are, what you look like, or what your background is, Jesus' death on the cross will is powerful enough to forgive your sins and give you eternal life. No matter where you are in your relationship with Christ, God loves you and you were created by Him. Today, let’s see where we are in our walk with Christ and see how we can make the greatest impact in His kingdom here on earth. If you don’t know Jesus, repent of your sins, turn the other way and follow him!

Suggested prayer:

Father, use me, allow me to connect with those around me, grow me, and sanctify me in a way that I can resemble who You are here on earth. Show me where You want me to go and how You want me to serve. Lord, you are an extraordinary God with extra ordinary vision and we trust You with our entire lives. Use our church to make the biggest impact possible here in Miami. We love You, and we pray this all in the name of Jesus. Amen.

Song for further reflection: Casting Crowns “Thrive

--

--

Christ Centered Church

We are a gospel centered church in North Miami, Florida. We meet in the Wolfe University Center at FIU’s Biscayne Bay Campus. For more info, visit c2church.org.