How I’ll use two new board seats to give back

Chris Cunningham
In the Trenches with C2V
2 min readNov 13, 2017

I believe finding time to give back is one of the most important and rewarding things we can do in life. But sometimes it takes a little time to figure how to do so in a way that invokes meaningful change in our community. Recently, my own purpose came into focus.

Over the last few weeks, I have announced through social media that I have joined the Board of Advisors for Build.Org NYC. Founded in 1999, BUILD.org is dedicated to proving the power of experiential learning through entrepreneurship. For me, serving the community by working with youth to advance their goals through technology and product just makes sense.

In the past, I was introduced to Build.org several times, but it was Baratunde Thurston, to whom I owe a huge thanks, who pushed to get me in front of the group’s leadership team a few months ago. As our conversation evolved, I knew Build.org and I were a fit.

Through this responsibility — this honor — I give my time to students to support their potential, raise awareness of the Build.org brand through marketing, and help this excellent cause raise money to develop presence in local schools and communities. I know my fantastic friends and generous network will offer your support for our upcoming fundraisers in NYC and Westchester.

I’m also excited to announce that I have recently accepted the role of Co-Chair of the iTrek Mentor Program at Cornell Tech. The iTrek is a highlight of the Cornell Tech MBA program and one of the most distinctive and challenging startup engagement experiences there is.

Born of a 2010 competition started by the Bloomberg administration, the iTrek program, which is a partnership between Cornell University and the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, is supported by $100 million in funding. Student teams will fly to Tel Aviv early next in 2018 to work with Israeli startups in solving specific business problems.

As a Co-Chair, along with Alex Blum and some incredibly talented NYC based mentors. We aim to serve this year’s students by advising and supporting business ideas of their counterparts in Israel, and build bridges and relationships that span borders and business sectors.

Thanks for reading friends! I share this post in hopes of gaining your support for both organizations and hope you may consider getting involved by donating money, or your own very valuable time.

Venture on!

Chris

--

--