A Mother’s Sacrifice: The Ungrateful Family

CaedmonSmith
4 min readJul 22, 2024
Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

I’m Aunt Li, 66 years old, and I’ve been living with my daughter for 24 years. Last year, I received 1.2 million yuan in land requisition compensation. My son-in-law wanted to kick me out of the house, which made me furious!

I’m a rural person from a small village in Yangdong. My husband passed away in a car accident when my daughter was 10 years old, and I received 200,000 yuan in compensation. Back then, it was a huge sum of money.

I was only 32 years old at the time. After my husband’s passing, many people wanted to marry me, but I refused them all.

Because my husband and I had a great relationship, and I wanted my children to grow up without a stepfather’s influence, I remained a widow and didn’t remarry.

I have a son and a daughter, with my daughter being six years older than my son.

My daughter dropped out of high school and went to work in Shenzhen, sending all her earnings back to me, saying it was for her brother’s education.

However, my son didn’t do well in school, often skipping classes to play video games and getting into fights, causing me a lot of trouble. He eventually dropped out of middle school.

Later, he got involved with some bad friends and ended up in jail.

--

--

CaedmonSmith

I am a freelance writer who likes to write about life-related topics.