I found life lessons in a video game

Taking another look at Kojima’s Death Stranding

Titus M. Caesar
5 min readOct 19, 2022

--

Cover for Death Stranding

Recently, I finished playing Hideo Kojima’s video game, Death Stranding. For those who haven’t played or heard of the game before, a cataclysm befalls a future United States and you, as a courier, are tasked with delivering supplies and rebuilding the links that connected the country.

I was surprised by the amount of philosophical concepts in game, though one notably stuck out to me—choices and how they affect us and those around us.

When I finished the game, I was so blown away that I had to sit down and put my thoughts together. The following is what I took away from the game.

Effects of Butterflies

We believe that we go through life and this world alone, that there are things that don’t even matter in our lifetime. Others might say differently. Others will say that we are all connected, joined by an invisible tether. Does this “connection” define who we are as a species? As people? I don’t know the answer to this question, but what I do know that there is some sort of connection that we have to each other, felt through the ripples of time and space.

Maybe one could call this the Butterfly Effectsmall changes can have profound, large effects on everyone and

--

--

Titus M. Caesar

I write on interesting topics, such as religion, society, history, and philosophy.