Cuchulainn

Kathleen Streitenberger-Rupert
1 min readAug 10, 2018

--

Oh Cuchulainn

The champion warrior
of Irish mythology
The Irish Achilles
A larger than life
fighter & warrior
Bouts of temper
I’ve seen face
to face
He often causes
himself and others
such grief
Anger makes
him slay men

He had a
warrior son
but Cuchulainn
and said son
refused to
identify themselves
and a tragic fight
ensued between two
where the son dies
from shared
defiance
and ignorance

Mortally wounded
in final battle
Cuchulainn died
on his feet
where a
crow landed
atop his
shoulder to
signify death
Memorials exist
of his
fight for
Irish Independence
in bronze
remembrance
He was the hound
of Culann

Are you this?

I believe you
are that

But you
are French,
please correct me

His real name
was Setanta

Have I blended
you into him?
Sort of…

You’re my
Achilles heel
a true weakness
of sorts

They’ll write
our prophecy
one future day

Maybe I am
mistaken but
your eyes are his

Yes you are he
100% a fierce man
Oh Cuchulainn…

Are you myth?

--

--

Kathleen Streitenberger-Rupert

Keyboard Flute & Vocals. I love to write! #amwriting my first novel. In- between, I write about life. Poetry Lyrics and Prose no topic is off topic for me. xoxo