Negative Images

Kathleen Streitenberger-Rupert
1 min readAug 7, 2017
“Negative Images”

If I
were
an outsider
an alien
being
stumbling
upon
Earth
I would
pass right
on by
after
24 earth
hours of
study

I see
your
destruction
it’s everywhere
I watch
as you
hunt and
then kill
one another
We don’t
do this
from
whence
I came

We observe
your weaponry
We observe
you as
animals
We watch
you destroy
and eat
one another
We listened
all night
to the
lies you
that you tell
You are such
a negative
image
to behold
from here
up above

I see
your
destruction
it’s everywhere
I watch
as you
hunt and
then kill
one another
We don’t
do this
from
whence
I came
I am
an alien
behold
Bow down
and
worship
me
I’m your
new God
Do you
know my
name?

Am I
an outsider
or do
I belong here
on Earth
with you
and your
friends?
I am sure
I will
alienate
you
I hail
from an
Alien Nation
of beings
bend knee
to me
now

We’ll take
it from here
I’ve changed
my mind
We’re staying
for good
We might
need food
at some
point
Soon you’ll
only be
referred to
as the
fields of
people food
We’re Agriculturalists
you see
You’ll do
quite nicely

--

--

Kathleen Streitenberger-Rupert

Keyboard Flute & Vocals. I love to write! #amwriting my first novel. In- between, I write about life. Poetry Lyrics and Prose no topic is off topic for me. xoxo