C. A. Hurst
3 min readMay 1, 2022

Who do you want to be next?

Where do you want to grow to next?

What are you doing to get yourself to who you want to be, and to where you want to grow?

Anything?

Are you reading?

Are you studying what’s going on in our world?

Are you pushing on yourself to grow and change?

Nobody can grow you but you.

You can choose to be squished by who the world tells you that you are supposed to be, and continue to do what the world tells you that you are supposed to do, or you can fight back.

You can grow yourself out of the rut that you have found yourself in.

It’s not easy.

In fact, it’s the hardest thing that you are ever going to do.

But once you have established a pattern of daily growth in your life nothing, and no one, can stop you from being vibrant, alive, fresh, relevant, and feeling like you actually have a purpose in life again.

Life is going to beat you up. Not once. Not twice. But over, and over, and over again.

You can choose to allow yourself to be beaten down by life’s calamities, or you can fight back.

You can take every negative circumstance, embrace it, experience it to the max, examine it minutely inside and out, and learn from it.

You can ask yourself, “What am I supposed to be learning from this? How can I take this experience, and use it for good in my life?”

You are tougher, stronger, smarter, and more resilient than you have ever allowed yourself to imagine that you are. But the only way you learn just how tough, smart, resilient etc. that you are is by going through all the shit that life serves up to you.

When horrible things happen in your life don’t run away from them, run to them.

Embrace them.

Embrace every ounce of pain and emotional agony that you can.

Fight with it.

Struggle with it.

Wrestle with it until you understand it, and defeat it.

The more quickly you embrace the pain in your life, the more quickly you will move through it.

The more you embrace the pain in your life, the better you will become at dealing with it, and learning from it.

Beat up?

Exhausted?

Been there. Done that.

Am there. Doing it.

I’m still working through layer after layer of emotional trauma, and physical trauma.

I have a couple of physical trauma things that are never going to go away. I can let the reality of that defeat me, or I can fight back.

I choose to fight back.

Every day I choose to find ways to grow internally.

I choose to find ways to encourage other people.

I choose to be optimistic.

I choose to have a positive mindset.

I could easily just give up, and give in to despair, but I choose not to.

I choose to fight back.

If I can, you can. Anybody can.

Life is about choices.

Always about choices.

Who do you want to be next?

Where do you want to grow to next?