It had been years…

Caitlin Kniery
2 min readSep 11, 2019

--

Between cheer, gymnastics, and dance I never stopped moving. That was until I was fresh out of high school. The world was my oyster. Invincibility was my middle name. My body could never tire. At least that is what I thought. As the years went by the decision to get back into working out was an easy one. Especially after I put on a few pounds. In high school I could eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner in one sitting. My belly would still be flat as a pancake. Oh, but those days had past. Now I had to decide how I wanted to get back in shape. First, I tried going to the gym paying the monthly fee. Not my finest hour. The only thing I was losing was the dollar bills in my bank account. Luckily my best friend started going to a boot camp not too far from where we lived. Her parents joined. My parents joined. My brother joined. Then I joined. It kind of became a family activity. Boot camp was the push I needed. I had a great built in support system and I was really starting to see results. The only push back was I felt sore all the time. The next day after a workout I would have a pounding headaches. I kept asking myself if working out was worth it. In my head I knew it was, but my body was telling me otherwise. The only thing I could think to do was research. What did other people did in my situation? After reading a couple compelling articles. I decided to give yoga a try. In the past I had looked up yoga but was always too afraid to go. Alas the time had come to put my worries to the side. The first studio I went to made me feel right at home. Yogi’s have an unbelievable community of people. In the classes they talk about putting your daily stresses aside by relaxing your mind and focusing on the breath. The first couple classes really changed my life. Not only did I feel a lot better when I combined boot camp with yoga but I also felt more at peace. A lot of my anxiety had disappeared. Finally! I found the workout of my dreams.

Hydra Greece 2016

--

--

Caitlin Kniery
0 Followers

All about the good times. Why waste time being unhappy?