Achieving Excellence Through Python and Computing: My Journey Through Mandatory Military Service

Caique Ponjjar
2 min readJan 5, 2023

--

Photo by Rafaela Biazi on Unsplash

It was my year of mandatory military service, and I was assigned to a special mission by my captain: to develop an interactive combat viewer in the sandbox for the Brazilian Army. I was given the task of programming it, and I was determined to make it as interactive and user-friendly as possible.

So, I set out to learn the necessary skills and began to write the code. I used Python, OpenCV, Tkinter, and a laser pointer to help with the user interface. I designed the interface to allow the troops to be positioned on the sand with the laser pointer, and then dragged around the map. I also incorporated various other features like draw routes and enemy country

After days of hard work and dedication, my combat viewer was finally complete. I tested it out in the sandbox, and it worked just as I had imagined it. The troops were able to be positioned and dragged around the map with ease. I was proud of my achievement, and the captain was very impressed with my work.

Showing relief detector and troop placement with the laserpointer in CombatViewer

The Brazilian Army was so impressed with the interactive combat viewer that they decided to implement it in their troops. It was a great success, and I was proud to have developed such a useful tool. My year of mandatory military service was made worthwhile thanks to this project.

See more about on github

--

--

Caique Ponjjar

I'm a developer who loves to code. I'm passionate about helping people understand the potential of technology. Check out my projects at github.com/Caique-P