Ask not what the steps can do for you…

Caity Rogowski
6 min readJun 20, 2016

--

Straight faces, straight backs, straight determination to keep our steps.

If I had to guess, I’d be willing to bet the majority of folks who attend November Project are not typically the first ones to raise their hands and ask for help. They’re the people who dive into difficult tasks head first. They’re doers. They’re the ones who leave questions, doubts, insecurities, fears, and concerns tucked away in bed when their alarms go off pre-sunrise for that day’s workout. But anytime a group like this gets challenged, it’s always interesting and inspiring to see how quickly they band together to do just that: ask for and offer help to one another.

Right now, the DC tribe needs some help. A group that has been safely and semi-subtly enjoying free workouts throughout DC for nearly 3 years now (save for one small stint on Good Morning America…casual) is now at risk of being turned away from our home. From public places throughout the city that go used, abused, and undervalued by hundreds of thousands of people every week. I’m talking about Meridian Hill Park in Columbia Heights. I’m talking about multiple playgrounds, monuments, and neighborhoods all across the city. I’m talking about: the Lincoln Memorial Steps.

You know the ones. The famous ones at that famous monument which represents crucial people and periods of American history that stood for the acceptance of citizens of all shapes, sizes, ages, and colors? To anyone who’s paid any attention to the mission behind November Project this concept probably sounds pretty dang familiar. The parallels between the sense of community exuded by the crusaders of Abe Lincoln’s time and the values shared by the athletes running up and down the monument’s steps every Wednesday must not go unnoticed and unappreciated. Especially at a time when humans can’t seem to get a grip on empathy and compassion toward one another. Whenever I start my day bouncing up and down with a group of 50+ strangers who are smiling, sweating, hugging, and cheering each other on it’s impossible to leave the scene in a bad mood. Instead, you leave motivated, empowered to make an impact, and eager to spread the positivity from these people to anyone you encounter: even that super chatty Uber driver who’s asking you 10 million personal questions while dodging that traffic camera on 16th St (am I right?). After a Wednesday morning on the steps you LOVE that guy.

So you’re thinking to yourself I GET IT CAITY. I’ve read more than 5 sentences about this weird thing you’ve been doing for a couple months now. Aside from making me feel bad about not joining myself, what exactly IS your point? My point is that unfortunately some people out there are feeling a little confused. They’re thinking that they must put a stop to this group’s activities. That for some reason, a group of grown ups, enjoying each other’s company, pushing their personal limits, reaching new goals, and spreading good vibes before most of the city has even hit snooze for the first time, doesn’t deserve access to these areas they rely on three times a week. Instead, they should probably just disperse and workout on their own time, in their own spaces, or maybe not even at all. This is not only disappointing, but it’s also stoppable.

Bob Vogel, in all of your Directorship glory, I know you aren’t trying to do a bad thing here. And I know some of us are even thinking “well this was probably inevitable.” But what I also know is that we can fix this. When I think about what it means to my friends and I to have the privilege of including the steps of the Lincoln in our weekly workouts it’s about more than the glamour calves we get after each “Lincoln Log.” Running the steps is about identity. DC with its transient population and professional pretension is a hard place to find a sense of belonging. We hold on to so many definers like where we were born, where we went to school, what we do for work. We forget that at the very heart of it we’re all just people, who probably have weird quirks and stories that are more entertaining than the title on their business card.

I truly believe the folks who scamper the stairs every week are the ones who best embody Lincoln’s own words: “malice towards none, charity for all.” In the short time I’ve known these people, I’ve seen them step up to the plate to give support, cheers, love, time, and many other resources to anyone in need. While the risks and aversions we face today pale in comparison to what Lincoln and his comrades faced during the 1800’s, we still showcase and identify with the characteristics of strength and compassion that the 16th president brought forth in order to create a positive and welcoming environment for all.

The steps of the Lincoln Memorial and the history of the monument aren’t just used and enjoyed one day a week and then forgotten about. In fact, the Lincoln is such a standing figure for NPDC that it was sanctioned as the “tag” for the DC tribe, thus securing even further the importance of this place as the foundational identifier for our group. To get an article of your clothing “tagged” with the November Project logo and your city’s official emblem all you have to do is #JustShowUp. That’s literally the only qualifier of acceptance. I’m grateful for the standard of acceptance that Lincoln established centuries ago. I’m grateful for those who have upheld this standard during trying times in our society since his time of leadership. And I’m grateful to have been accepted by this group of strangers during a season when I didn’t have much keeping me going or keeping me positive.

Mr. Vogel — if you don’t want to continue reading long-winded posts and letters by my friends and I, please give us a permit that will allow us to keep up our cause — free fitness for everyone — at these places each week. I’d be willing to bet that if you ever need a friend, a favor, a helping hand, or an extra crew for trash duty every once and a while that I know a few folks who’d be there for you in a jiffy.

NPDCers, NPers, and you reading this right now (YOU right there with the eyes and fingers): please send a note to our friend Bob letting him know how super it would be if we were granted this magical, double secret, golden ticket permit.

Bob_Vogel@nps.gov
Bob Vogel, Regional Director
National Park Service
1100 Ohio Drive, SW
Washington D.C. 20242

Smiles for miles. Stairs for breakfast.

--

--

Caity Rogowski

jokes, pizza, coffee. Opinions and snacks are my own. ENFP.