Why you should start a blog

Caleb Gucciardi
2 min readFeb 7, 2023

--

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

This is my first post on Medium…
So why should you listen to me on “starting a blog”?

The answer is simple: I have many things to do during my days, and I’m sure this is true for you as well… nevertheless, I’m starting this personal blog because I think there are multiple benefits to doing so.

⇒ To Know you better

You change! Think about it. Are you the same person you were last year?
Is your focus on the same topics? Aren’t you learning anything new?
That’s why you need a place to keep track of your evolution, where you can see how your opinion of X changed and how it affected Y in your life.

It’s similar to journaling, but it’s not private. You should write about the things you learn or your thoughts and opinions, whatever brings value to others and shows the current version of you.

Don’t think you have nothing to share, you are a complex being like any other. The little things that you find interesting are interesting to many other people.

⇒ To extend your Personal Brand

You live in two parallel universes, the first is where you have your social interactions, where you work and where you express yourself, and the second is the physical world. I don’t want to argue here whether this is right or wrong, everyone is in it nowadays and we should optimize the way we use these tools.

Your personal brand is all that is visible of you online. A blog can help you build and expand your professional network, it can help you clarify your strengths, values and unique qualities.

⇒ To improve your writing skills

Communication is key, it is impossible not to communicate, but it is extremely simple to communicate in the wrong way.

Writing a blog and exposing yourself to people’s judgement is the best way to learn how to present your views so that the reader gets the full picture you have in your head, instead of missing important points that lead to misunderstandings (bonus if English is not your first language).

Conclusions

If I’ve not convinced you… well, that’s ok. I started thinking about opening a blog years ago and I’m doing it only now. Maybe you need some more inputs to start, or perhaps you’ll never start, but all the information you absorb changes you a little, and I am happy to be a small part of that.

--

--