CS 373 Fall 2023: Caleb Hu

Calebhu
2 min readAug 27, 2023

--

Headshot
  • Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Houston, TX.

  • What high school did you attend?

I went to Bellaire High School.

  • What was your favorite extracurricular activity in high school?

I liked to do competitive programming and robotics (FRC).

  • Why did you come to UT?

Because it’s a cheap (relatively), close to home, and high quality school for CS.

  • Why are you majoring in CS?

CS has been interesting to me at a young age and also happened to be the only thing that I actually could see myself doing for the rest of my life. I also became quite good at coding so it seemed like a waste to throw that experience away.

  • Why are you in this class?

It’s a writing flag and CS UDE, and also I think I need to be better at working in groups.

  • What are your expectations of this class?

To learn about more tools related to the SWE industry and work in groups to create something interesting.

  • How much do you know about Javascript/Python/SQL/Web programming?

Javascript, SQL, Web dev, almost nothing

Python, not a lot

  • How did you like the first lectures?

They were pretty engaging, and not too hard to follow even though I had no idea what Docker was. The second one was mostly review for me though, so not as exciting.

  • How did you feel about the cold calling?

I feel ambivalent.

  • What do you think about specifications grading?

I do not feel excited for it, it was very annoying to deal with in 439.

  • What made you happy this week?

I went to a concert on Saturday!

  • What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Tip- Drink water! Changed my life when I started drinking water consistently.

--

--