Remembering an Intellectual Giant

Caleb Weingarten
4 min readDec 16, 2022

--

The importance of Christopher Hitchens

Picture found on Instagram @christopher__hitchens

Christopher Hitchens died 11 years ago today, but his untimely departure still sits deep in my flesh at the time of writing this. I do not mean to be hyperbolic — a true master of the sword, a figure deserving of authority due to his masterful command of the English language and his unwavering commitment to truth, honesty, and even in the event he was wrong, acceptance in defeat. The anniversary of his death compels me to reach far back and remember the times of his glory and even the more depressing lead-up to his death. Peter Hitchens, Christopher’s younger brother, writes in reflection on his older brother,

“Here’s a thing I will say now without hesitation, unqualified and important. The one word that comes to mind when I think of my brother is ‘courage’. By this I don’t mean the lack of fear which some people have, which enables them to do very dangerous or frightening things because they have no idea what it is to be afraid. I mean a courage which overcomes real fear, while actually experiencing it.”

Perhaps this is why I gravitate toward Christopher Hitchens, and I would not doubt its merit with his fans worldwide. Hardly anyone was as brave in attacking figures such as Bill Clinton, Henry Kissinger, and Mother Theresa. Without much hesitation, I can say I’m not alone in awe when I read his work due to its almost divine (a comparison he would hate to hear) ability to question your existence, purpose, and whether your contribution is enough.

Religion, however… woof. I would not want to be on the other end of his stringy arguments that are as tight and sound as a noose. This is his most famed topic, and virtually all footage of him on the internet is discussing, debating, or decrying religion, often all at once. Something fascinating about Hitchens is that he always took a position on something, embracing the quality his brother gave him. Even on issues like the Iraq War, which he was an adamant supporter of if it meant ridding of Saddam Hussein and his supposed WMDs. I believe he drew back slightly on this support, but I don’t think he ever voiced something he didn’t fully support.

Describing himself as a First Amendment absolutist, I agree with him that not relativizing the significance of free speech, free press, and free associations and saying that anyone who aims to take this down is an enemy of society is not a statement blown out of proportion. Recently, I have imagined what his view would be now, what quips and repudiations he would have for the “wokeness” and Cancel Culture hysteria.

His death from cancer, however, cut his time short, and the writings in his last book, Mortality reflect the insidious nature of one sick with such a vicious disease. The book is a masterclass of argumentation and reflection but a gut punch of bleakness. My favorite quote of his comes from page 91, which says,

“If I convert it’s because it’s better that a believer dies than that an atheist does”

One may be repulsed at this idea but surely you know it’s a provocation. Right?

“Brave? Hah! Save it for a fight you can’t run away from” (page 89 of Mortality).

I guess we all will be brave one day!

“The alien was burrowing into me even as I wrote the jaunty words about my own prematurely announced death” (page 86 of Mortality).

Hitchens often had a way of relating something like cancer. In an interview, he called it a parody of being pregnant. You host its life, but unlike the good child, the other one attempts to murder you.

Even up until he died, the fight against religion and tyranny persisted, even through his frayed vocal cords and delicate body. Never was anyone excluded from the conversation unless honesty wasn’t their objective.

As Whitman once wrote in Leaves of Grass,

“There shall be no difference between them and the rest” (page 43).

I would consider myself a decent polemicist if I had even an ounce of the bravery Christopher Hitchens once had. To be optimistic about the future, I offer that we all try to be more like him, especially as the political walls between Right and Left tighten. And it isn’t just the bad ideas that get filtered through the system if we let them.

In closing, let’s remember Hitch for who he was and what his spirit continues to be.

“COLD FEET (so far only at night): ‘peripheral neuropathy’ is another of those words like “necrotic” that describes death-in-life of the system. AND you lose weight but cancer isn’t interested in eating your flab. It wants your muscle. The Tumortown Diet ain’t much help. Worst of all is ‘chemo-brain.’ Dull, stuporous. What if the protracted, lavish torture is only the prelude to a gruesome execution. Body turns from reliable friend to more neutral to treacherous foe… Proust?” (page 91 of Mortality).

Thank you all so much for reading this. I hope you were able to take value from it. If you enjoy my work, feel free to give me a follow to support my writing.

The quote from the poem above, is from Songs of Myself by Walt Whitman

Below is a link to another piece that you may like and my page on the Iowa State Daily, where I am a columnist

Best regards,
Caleb

--

--

Caleb Weingarten

Columnist, social critic, and poet. Student of philosophy and life examiner. Native of Denver, CO but am on a journey elsewhere.