A message from a friend

Caley Yardley
1 min readMay 20, 2024

--

A pastel-pink-tinted cloud over a turquoise backdrop. Photo by Szabo Viktor on Unsplash

Look to nature.

When birds fly they go with the wind, they don’t fight against it.

As fish swim the sea’s currents else they lose themselves in the tides,

And animals graze where they can lest they starve in barren fields,

Let us see the sun and storms for what they are.

Nature may not be kind to the creatures on this Earth

Yet still they prevail.

Under daylight, rain clouds, or the eye of a hurricane,

Dare to thrive with what we have.

Original poem written by Caley Yardley 20 May 2024.

The first two lines were said to me by a friend during an inter-generational LGBTQ+ event and at the time, I think I really needed to hear it. As she drew comfort from the words from her mother during turmoils in the past, I think I’ll find mine own comfort navigating the world today. I’m so thankful for the chance to know you, Fin, and your partner Liz, and everyone else in the creative inter-generational LGBTQ+ group I’m a part of 🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍⚧️

--

--

Caley Yardley

I can’t afford therapy so I write instead. If you’re (un)lucky I publish it here.