Creating an Email Sending Program: The Beginning

Callum Rosier
2 min readSep 2, 2022

Inspiration

I have an idea for an interesting programming project, the idea is based on the Elon Jet twitter account but with my own twist. The Elon Jet twitter account posts updates on the whereabouts of Elon Musk’s private jet whenever it arrives or dispatches from an airport. It uses a live data feed of statistics for the jet such as co2 emissions, time and fuel levels. This really intrigued me so i want to build something similar.

The Project

My twist will use a cryptocurrency api to access price details of the Bitcoin Cryptocurrency, it will use them in some way by sending an email to a recipient with relevant information on the price. Wether this is updates for when the price goes below a certain point indicating a buying opportunity, or wether it just sends a weekly report on the price i have not yet decided.

Bitcoin Coin

What I Want To Learn

This will help me become more proficient in using Node JS which is a technology i am excited to learn more about. It will also improve my Javascript skills by using ES6 features, modules and keeping my code as clean and efficient as possible.

I will be building this in my spare time whenever i get the chance i will write some code to figure this out, i will use this blog to track my progress and post the things i learn. You can also visit the git hub repo here, all feedback is appreciated and will be taken on board.

--

--