5 | Things to know before traveling to Costa Rica

Marta C
5 min readJul 7, 2023

--

This is the third installment of a five-part series I have created to accompany my weekly newsletter where I share my personal collection of moments of joy, *Tuesday Tingle.*

This series highlights my experiences and learnings as a first-generation Polish-American traveling Central and Latin America with her rescue dog, Luna.

You can read the previous two posts here:

I remember saying to a friend, “I mean it looks like vacationland all the time. But the humidity. And I don’t know, I don’t know if I can imagine not having seasons.” It’s true, some days the humidity feels suffocating and I spend the afternoon in my apartment starfish style, desperately trying not to sweat out of every pore. You can get frustrated all you want, but it’s not going to make you cool down. You either adapt to it or deal with it. You can also choose to experience instead of resistance.

Here is a list of tips I’ve gathered and now share openly with anyone who expresses interest in and/or who is wishing to travel to Costa Rica, ‘Pura Vida land.’

  1. You will sweat -

Talking about the weather is one of my favorite small-talk conversation topics. We may think that we are all experiencing the surrounding environment similarly, and yet, we all have a different way of recognizing the impact it may have on us, even throughout the day.

I’ve learned that checking the weather app hourly here leaves me expecting something that seldom occurs. To my surprise, the climate does shift quite a bit depending on where you are and how long you are there, as a sunny morning can turn into a torrential downpour before you know it. There are also areas with temperate temperatures, but don’t expect this near the coast. And yes, there is a chance you may feel that your skincare products and makeup are melting off. The glow versus sweat debate is easily settled.

2. It’s a jungle out there -

Some things are a bit more wild. Wikipedia tells me that there are over 500,000 species of wild animals located within the country, which is relatively small. It isn’t uncommon to come across iguanas, sloths, and monkeys, crocodiles, especially in a location like Manuel Antonio. I have learned that there are over 900 species of tropical birds here as well, with approximately 50 kinds of hummingbirds existing alone. Now, I’m not a birdie girlie, but I have grown to appreciate them. Just seeing their bright colors fly by do make me stop what I’m doing and smile at them, imagining they’re acknowledging me too.

It should also be no surprise that leaving any food out is an open invitation to ants and other critters. And inevitably the mosquitos may become a nuisance, but again, you can choose to adapt.

3. Respect nature and its tranquil strength -

You may be the strongest swimmer in your family but I promise you don’t need to swim out as far as you may think you do during your afternoon dip. Despite having 70% of the earth’s surface covered in water, we still have much to learn about the inherent strength of the ocean. Many water-based activities are both available and accessible, and Costa Rica can boast of having access to both the Caribbean and Pacific oceans. However, my biggest takeaway surrounding this topic is to proceed with caution and personal responsibility.

3. a.

In addition to having some of the most beautiful beaches (that I at least have traveled to), Costa Rica is also mountainous, with its highest peak Mount Chirripo reaching 12,530 ft (3,819m) above sea level. There are multiple mountain ranges throughout the country, as well as dense rainforests showcasing incredible waterfalls throughout the country. However, getting to these places can sometimes be tricky. When traveling by car, do your best to confirm verified directions (and requesting/receiving/sending a map pin for reference always helps) as roads can be unmarked and rugged. Asking for and understanding directions is a separate point to accommodate. House numbers are not conventional and street names are often unofficial. The ‘Lost in San Jose’ episode of Radio Ambulate is a great comedic insight into the matter. Know that having access to a car (especially one that is 4 x 4) also helps immensely to get to some of these mysterious and often hidden locations and being a safe, cautious, and confident driver helps.

4. Bring and carry cash -

Often there are opportunities to purchase local homemade goods (or coco’s) with nearby vendors (especially on la playa) who are not able to offer alternative forms of payment. While there is a bank transfer application that is widely used (Sinpe), to access this you must have a Costa Rican bank account. Luckily, both the local currency (colones), and U.S. dollars can be utilized, especially in larger tourist areas, however, do not expect to receive any remaining change in dollars.

Most restaurants will have the possibility of paying by debit or credit card but be aware that there is a 13% placed on transactions finalized in this way.

5. Don’t assume or expect you understand how things work — pura vida

Ah, pura vida. I love this sentiment so much. The expression is used extensively. It can be a way to greet one another, a generic and neutral response when you don’t have anything else to say, or also a description of how things operate, amongst others.

Yes, there is an overall slower approach to lifestyle and pace, especially compared to living in NYC. There are of course different cultural conventions. The traffic patterns alone make you question whether there are universal rules.

But the real reason why I am enthralled by this lens is because it allows me to view anything I may be confronted with from a wider perspective. It reminds me that all of this in this world is just to experience life. You can choose to be frustrated because there is only one teller at the bank, and you have already been there for 40 minutes, and you can choose to accept it with grace or come back another time. It reminds me to keep searching for the moments of joy.

I’m curious to hear if any of these resonate with any readers! Is there something you believe I may have omitted? Share with me, I’d love to connect!

Links and other spaces I occupy on the web:

--

--

Marta C

Introspective reflections and perspectives on personal development and growth, cultural and travel stories, and other layers that shape our human experience.