Reading Through Kotlin in Action

Caren Chang
1 min readMay 21, 2017

--

Kotlin has been the talk of the Android community, and while I’ve been hearing bits and pieces about why it’s great (no NPEs, less verbose), I wanted a deeper dive to understand the language. Now that Google has officially announced support for the language, it seems even more important to learn the language. In February, two core developers of Kotlin released the first official Kotlin book: Kotlin in Action. In the upcoming months, I’ll be attempting to read through the book and summarize my readings.

Chapter 1: Kotlin: What and Why
Chapter 2: Kotlin Basics
Chapter 3: Calling and Defining Functions
Chapter 4: Classes, Objects, and Interfaces
Kotlin Lambda Functions and Overview
Exploring Kotlin’s Nullability

I’ll be attempting to read at least one chapter a week, so keep checking back for new chapter summaries!

--

--