How to Gain Momentum

Calum Upton
Moving Forward Together
4 min readJul 17, 2024
Never let your momentum drop to 0. Your productivity will thank you.

Momentum is a powerful force in personal development and productivity.

Once we get going, start accumulating small wins and success, we are propelled forward. It’s now easier to achieve goals and maintain progress.

We’ve all experienced this. You’re absolutely bossing life. You’re making progress in the gym, you are smashing it at work and you’re maintaining excellent relationships, and showing up with friends and family.

We then go on holiday. Relax for a couple of weeks, and find it so hard to get back to that same level straight away, it takes a long time to get back to where you were before your time off.

If this seems familiar, you’ve already experienced the importance of momentum.

I’m not saying to never take a holiday, but the key is to never let your momentum drop to zero.

Here are some strategies to help you build and sustain momentum in your personal development journey.

1. Habit Stacking

One of the most effective ways to build momentum is through habit stacking.

This involves linking new habits to existing ones, making it easier to incorporate them into our daily routine. For example:

  • After we pour our morning coffee, meditate for one minute.
  • After we brush our teeth at night, write down three things we’re grateful for.

Stacking new habits onto established ones can create a chain of positive actions to drive continuous improvement.

Additionally, the trick with habits is to only focus on establishing one at a time. Stack these habits individually. We’re more likely to sustain them in the long run if We’re only trying to build one at a time. View habit stacking with a long term mindset.

2. Set Clear Goals and Reflect Regularly

Setting clear, achievable goals is crucial for maintaining momentum.

I bang on about setting goals so much, but that’s because they’re SO IMPORTANT.

I do nothing without making it a goal.

Break larger goals into smaller, manageable tasks and celebrate each small victory along the way.

Regular reflection is equally important when breaking down goals and working out progress towards current ones. Take time to assess what’s working and what isn’t.

It can be done through journaling or simply setting aside a few minutes each day to think about your progress.

I prefer the latter, every time I’ve tried journaling, I find I don’t necessarily get anything more out of the experience than if I’d spent that same time just thinking. This is especially true when I always find I never read the journals back, because I don’t get any value from reading them back, most of them end up in the bin. Find what works for you though.

3. Manage Your Energy, Not Just Your Time

Productivity isn’t just about time management; it’s also about managing energy.

Identify the times of day when we feel most energetic and focused, and schedule our most important tasks during these periods. This way, we can work more efficiently and maintain a higher level of productivity throughout the day.

For most people, including myself, I have outrageous amounts of energy in the morning. So I try to get a good workout and the most important work for the day done early.

4. Continual Learning and Skill Development

Continuous learning keeps our mind engaged and our skills sharp.

This can be through formal training, online courses, or reading publications — make learning a regular part of your routine.

This will build confidence and keep us motivated, providing a sense of progress and achievement.

Through the nature of doing a PhD, I’m forced to learn daily anyway, but I’ve found trying to read at least 10 pages of a research paper daily has helped speed this up.

5. Create a Supportive Network

Surround myself with people who support my goals has been so important.

Our support network could be through colleagues, joining professional groups, or following inspiring figures on social media.

Whilst my family and friends have always been supportive, I went through a long period where I didn’t feel like I had anyone to share some of the more niche challenges in my career and fitness journey with. Finding inspirational figures on social media (mainly YouTube) helped sooooo much with this.

Sharing our progress and challenges with others can provide valuable feedback and keep us motivated.

6. Celebrate Your Achievements

Don’t forget to celebrate our successes, regardless of how small.

Recognising our achievements can boost our morale and reinforce the positive habits we’re building. For me, it boosts self-efficacy. If I’m telling myself I’m a boss bitch, I’m more likely to maintain the momentum.

Whoever we want to share our milestones with, be that with friends, family, or on social media, it doesn’t hurt to get that extra dose of encouragement and validation.

7. Take Risks and Embrace Failure

Building momentum requires stepping out of our comfort zone.

Take risks and try new things.

Failure is a natural part of the learning process. It provides valuable lessons that propel us forward.

Ask, “What would I do today if I wasn’t afraid?” and take action accordingly.

8. Change Your Scenery

Sometimes, a change of environment can do wonders for our productivity.

If we’re feeling stuck, try working from a different location, like a coffee shop or a park. Last week I spent the day in a Starbucks, and it renewed me with energy for when I was back in the office the following day.

This provides a fresh perspective and renewed energy to tackle tasks.

Final Thoughts

Maintaining momentum in personal development and productivity is an ongoing process. We can never have too much momentum, but we can have 0 momentum.

Try adding some of these strategies into your daily routine.

The key is to keep moving forward, no matter how small the steps.

Consistent effort and a proactive mindset allow us to achieve our personal development goals.

--

--

Calum Upton
Moving Forward Together

I post content on personal development, fitness, wellbeing, productivity and health. I'm currently a Biochemstry PhD student and a high performing athlete.