From Loser To Leader In One Simple Step

CamDevo
3 min readMay 18, 2024
Dark Prayer Room image generated by Firefly AI

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come on you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”
‭‭Acts‬ ‭1‬:‭8‬ ‭CSB‬‬

The Trinity is a mysterious thing. I don’t understand what it is or how it works. I know it is a description of God, encompassing the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. They are somehow both three Beings and also one Being. So, is it a multiple personality situation or a family or something else I have no way of relating to or comprehending?

It’s most definitely the latter. God is way beyond my ability to comprehend.

If I could fully understand God, He really wouldn’t be much of a God. In fact, even limiting Him to the pronouns available to me seems like a failure. God is beyond He, She, It, and even They. He is none of those things. God is just God, or as He likes to say, He is I AM.

So when today’s Bible verse talks about the Holy Spirit “coming on me” as a follower of Jesus, I’m flummoxed. Is it God, or part of God? Is it Jesus, or part of Jesus? What is the Holy Spirit?

Jesus talked about the Holy Spirit quite a bit at the end of His ministry. He wanted to assure His disciples that His departure wouldn’t mean He was gone from their lives. His Spirit would…

--

--