The Gift of Yum

CamDevo
2 min readOct 7, 2023

--

“Taste and see that the Lord is good. How happy is the person who takes refuge in him!”
‭‭Psalms‬ ‭34‬:‭8‬ ‭CSB‬‬

David, the author today’s verse, was king of Israel at one point, but he was also king of praising God, his whole life. Praising has never been my strong suit so I have often turned to the psalms that David wrote for inspiration.

This is one of my favorites. Because it is so unusual! How often do you think about tasting God? Sure, I taste food all the time to see if it’s good. Does my sauce need more salt? Is the drink too sweet? Is the sandwich dry and in need of mustard?

But taste God?

David asks me to do just that. And he is sure that I will discover God’s goodness by doing so.

So how do I taste God? It could be literally, I suppose, by taking communion. This symbol of Jesus’s sacrifice is supposed to remind me of His great gift and immense love for me so that is certainly very good. But Jesus and the communion sacrament came after David wrote this.

So he was probably talking a bit more symbolically. God created me. He created my tastebuds. He created sugar and spice and everything nice that there is to taste. God loves the people He created and gets a real kick out of doing delightful things for us. He loves to see my face light up with joy when I taste a plump ripe strawberry or lick a cold chocolate ice cream cone on a hot day. When I think about the beautiful gift of taste, I have to thank God. What a fantastic gift! He didn’t have to make things taste good or create such a variety of flavors, but He did. Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good indeed!

Dear God,

Thank you so much for the wonderful gift of flavor and taste. It’s such a beautiful and creative gift. I’m sorry I don’t thank you every single time I put something yummy in my mouth. Thank you for this reminder of your love!

Originally published at http://camdevo.com on October 7, 2023.

--

--