The Priest

Formerly known as Bob (part 12)

Michael Campi
4 min readJul 6, 2024

Stayin’ alive.

I woke up with a start, swatting my hands in front of my face and I connected with something vaguely human, and I heard a cry.

What the fuck?

I got my eyes opened and focused and saw the kid on the floor holding his head and crying.

“What’re you doing?” I asked

“I was looking to see if you were dead.”

“That’s crazy. We’ve been here for a while, why would I be dead, have I ever been dead before?”

“No, but there’s no way to know when you might be.”

“So you’re thinking, what, that one day I’m just going to be dead?”

“Yes.”

“Why would you think that?”

“I’ve seen it before. It was people that I liked.”

“So you’re saying that you like me?”

“I don’t know.”

“But you kinda like me.”

“Yes.”

“Okay then. I kinda like you too. But don’t be hovering over me when I’m sleeping like that. That’s just weird.”

“Do you think I’m weird?”

“I would think you were weird if you weren’t weird because there’s really no other way to be.”

“Are you weird?”

“What do you think?”

--

--

Michael Campi

You should laugh, you should cry, you should buy t-shirts that are finally available. See link at bottom of stories email: waypastwtf@gmail.com