The Priest

Formerly known as Bob (part 7)

Michael Campi
5 min readMay 25, 2024

The Kid and the Killer
Number five on the list of the top ten weirdest things about the apocalypse was the strange way that things, more appropriate to the new world, replaced old and no longer valid things from the old world.

I had been noticing the veneer of civilization chipping off for a while but some bits stayed around long after they ceased to have value, like me trying to figure out a way to profit off the end of the world. There was absolutely no reason to make money as we knew it. It had no value but for some reason it stuck in my head that I needed to make money.

Then there were the things that just showed up like a package from Amazon that you didn’t remember ordering.

When it came, I would ask myself, “did I order this? I don’t remember ordering it.”

Maybe I ordered it and then with all the craziness of the last few years I just forgot. Then I had to ask myself if I did order it and there were no more Amazon drivers and no more Amazon, and I was 400 miles away from where I had been if I ordered anything and western civilization had collapsed how did it get here. Then I had to ask myself if this was one of those things that had nothing to do with Amazon and everything to do with my somewhat fragile psychological situation.

This is what I was pondering as I planned my first road trip from Jerome to Sedona, a twenty-seven mile jaunt, to shop for some art to decorate my home.

--

--

Michael Campi

You should laugh, you should cry, you should buy t-shirts that are finally available. See link at bottom of stories email: waypastwtf@gmail.com