Street Cred

CancerGeek
2 min readDec 7, 2018

by Cancergeek

Cartoon courtesy of FunkyJunk.com

I receive multiple comments a week from people about the page on my site called “street cred.”

I am usually asked why I call it that and not a CV, Resume, or About page.

My answer is simple.

A majority of the time people want to know if they can trust you.

If you have done anything like this before. If other organizations, companies, professional societies have worked with you, and if so, can they get a recommendation that they were satisfied.

No one wants to be the first. No one wants to look like a fool. No one wants to be called out in front of their peers and be questioned on why did you make a foolish choice.

Yet, that is everything my entire career has been about…being the first.

The first program at my University with a degree in oncology. The first to create a student council. The first to design a logo, promote it, and provide swag for our professional society. The first to do an upgrade, a renovation, a redesign, to build hospitals and cancer centers in the U.S. and then elsewhere around the world. The list of firsts continues.

My “street cred” comes from my comfort in swimming in a sea of ambiguity.

To me, it is less about the accomplishments and bullets on the page.

To me, the “street cred” resides in being bold and daring enough to be the first. To take the risk. To do something that hasn’t been done before. To do something that makes others uncomfortable, pushed others to the edges, and makes a change in myself and the people I connect with in those moments.

If you want to see the accomplishments, here they are on the updated page: Cancergeek Street Cred

If you want street cred, start caring less about what everyone else thinks, and start being the first.

Taking a risk, like medicine, happens at the N of 1.

As always feel free to email me at cancergeek@gmail.com or follow me on Twitter and Instagram as CancerGeek

~Cancergeek

--

--

CancerGeek

Chief Strategy & Marketing Officer GE Healthcare; BoD Precision Medicine China; Healthcare ruckusmaker; #radiology #Nof1 https://youtu.be/PfM3hLyfHf8