Kaos: A Modern Greek Mythology Epic

Let chaos reign

Candace Estelle
29 min readAug 29, 2024
Credit: Netflix

I love Greek Mythology. I recently heard someone akin Ancient Greece to women as they have linked the Roman empire to men. I couldn't give two sh*its about the Roman Empire, they stole quite a bit from the Greeks, and that annoys the daylights out of me. It annoys me enough that the prospect of reading The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire seems like a good time. Maybe I will find kinship in reading, or maybe I’ll continue my strangely bitter estrangement from ancient Romans. My heart lies with Greek antiquity. Kaos is a new series on Netflix about my favorite ancient pantheon, but it’s set in the modern day. If someone says Greek Mythology I say yes! If someone says Jeff Goldblum I say yes! If someone says Jeff Goldblum will play Zeus in a new show I say hell yes and plan my day around its release. It’s August 29th at 9:00 AM, Let’s Goooooooo!

I will write this article as I watch episode by episode. There are spoilers. I’m bad at information withholding, I could never be a spy. This is a play-by-play, some details are omitted, but the story is completely laid out.

Episode 1

We are introduced to our world, but it is slightly(significantly) different. The Greek Gods are among us, and still ruling with an iron fist. It’s quite a bizarre juxtaposition to see…

--

--

Candace Estelle

Expat living, writing, and creating in Europe. Lover of movies, TV, games, and books. Podcast: Binge It Babe Podcast, listen now! linktr.ee/candaceestelle