Candy Prisms
5 min readApr 3, 2024

--

Who am I?

Photo by Author

Hi! I’m Candy. Fun fact, that’s not my real name. I chose to go by Candy online because it was supposed to be my name! My mom always wanted to name her daughter Candice, and call her Candy, but after she married my dad, the last name would have caused a lot of teasing. So, they discarded Candice, and named me Megan.

I wanted to write this post as a personal essay. A snippet into my life the last few years. Let’s start back in 2020.

2020 was a wild time around the globe. Covid was hitting the world full force. During that time, I was receiving my official diagnosis of Lupus and Rheumatoid Arthritis. I was promptly put on medication to help reduce symptoms. Sadly, none of the oral medications worked for me, as I had reactions to them, and was left with the option of Rituxan infusions. One of the biggest side effects of Rituxan is how it affects the immune system. It makes you immunocompromised. Due to this diagnosis and Covid, my husband and I made the choice that I should quit my job, and stay home.

I had been working as a manager and waitress at a local restaurant. The money I was making there was mostly for extras and emergencies. We were lucky enough that my husband was able to provide for our family without me contributing. I loved that job, too. It was part-time, allowed me to be off in time to get my kids from school, and honestly, I made great money. Not to toot my own…

--

--

Candy Prisms

Mom | Writer | Invisible Illness | Small Business owner | Books and book reviews | ADHD rambles