Instagram name pirate strikes again.

Greg Birch
2 min readJun 18, 2018

--

They say Nothing will change…

I find myself in the same situation as @Kathleen.

My handle @canine was stolen before my eyes on Friday. I am a dentist, dog lover and Washington husky fan (therefore “canine”) last year my twitter handle @canine was stolen as well. When that happened I locked down all my accounts, two step verification through my cell phone wherever I could.

I waved goodbye to my twitter handle, chalked it up to experience and let it go. I do however enjoy photography so Instagram felt like a better platform for my social indulgences.

Jun 15 2018 9:30am as I was logged into @canine on my phone and before my eyes and before I could do anything about it I was logged out and informed my password had been changed….. holy crap. It happened again, and through two step verification.

I have been around this media stuff since the beginning, at first it all felt like riding behind a boat on an inner tube whipping around corners and laughing. This is ugly, sort of gangster, taking something I had put effort into, showing my good photos because @canine was special, hell I knew the name was coveted because people have offered to buy it for years but it was my space, my real estate.

I’ve lost any faith in online security and every avenue to a resolution through Facebook or Instagram channels end with silence……..

Said thief was generous enough to change my name to @canine74747477 WTF? If I was a 747 pilot I might not even mind.

Cheers

Gregory Birch DDS

--

--