Miami Spotlight: Vizcaya Museum & Gardens

Nicole Bedford
5 min readSep 12, 2018

Miami and I have had a long affair since my early childhood. It is the closest US City to the Bahamas and so most Bahamians travel here often multiple times a year. My mother grew up in Miami and I’ve always had family that lived here so when we came we stayed with family and our visits surrounded shopping and eating.

Now as an adult I can truly enjoy what Miami has to offer. I arrived here two weeks ago and I’ve been completely taken in by the charm. I’m staying in the Brickell area which is bustling with bars, restaurants, and upscale hotels like East and SLS. I’m going to be in Miami until the end of October so I’ve decided to do a Tourism Series of all that Miami has to offer.

Last month, I decided to visit the Vizcaya Museum & Gardens formerly known as Villa Vizcaya. Vizcaya was built as a winter escape for James Deering, a Chicago Business man (1859–1925).

The Italian Villa sits on 50 acres of gorgeous land with the original foliage of Rockland Hammock in the front and stunning European styled gardens in the back. I had no idea what to expect when I decided to venture out. I quickly googled how to get there and didn’t bother doing much research beforehand and I am glad I didn’t.

From the onset of walking into the gates I was swept away into a different world. Here are a few reasons you…

--

--

Nicole Bedford

Deputy Editor: An Injustice Mag. Words in Insider, Elephant Journal, Blavity, etc. Contact: nicole@aninjusticemag.com