Capsule House Curated: II

Capsule House Lore
4 min readJul 5, 2022

--

“Nightmarket created by TokyoLuv.

TokyoLuv: Nightmarket

Twitter | Instagram | Foundation | Opensea | Website| Proposal

TokyoLuv’s SuperRare’s “about” is better than anything I could write, so were gonna go with that. “For over a decade, TOKYOLUV has been crafting beautiful cinematic shots of cities. He’s a lover of the cyberpunk aesthetic and infuses this timeless look into every photo he creates. His neon photography is truly captivating, taking audiences on a journey through modern Tokyo from a first-person perspective. His photos have been seen by millions worldwide through his online outlets, stunning prints, and magazine coverage.”

TokyoLuv is a great guy. It’s that simple. Community member. Hacker Maxi. He gets excited at the little things, and shares in our jubilation when Seer or Junni pop in and say, “boobies”. It was during one of these exchanges when he mentioned the proposals and being eager to see Pondering’s piece, and as he puts it, “you simply said, “let me know if you wanna collab”.” He then DMs me and it’s a done deal. I think there was a little more groveling and nowhere near as cool, but I’ll take it.

From initial contact, he was ready to roll. Half of the piece was done before I had time to say Hacker Maxi. Many times, he asked us, what we liked, what would be cool, do you like this, do you like that (I don’t know man, you’re TokyoLuv, why you asking us?). This is what I love- artists genuinely interested in getting the IP right, working hard, and using their vision to give something special to our holders. Thank you to the community for allowing me the opportunity to connect with these wonderful artists.
Please enjoy getting to know TokyoLuv.

Tell us a little about yourself? Inspirations?

I’m a photographer inspired by cyberpunk medias. One of the first anime I watched as a kid was the original Ghost in the Shell. I started taking photos around 2006, and slowly over the years my editing style has evolved into what it is today.

What brought you to Web3/NFTs?

I’ve always enjoyed collecting stuff. I have a huge vinyl toy collection and have always been into trading card games. I’m also always interested in new and disruptive technology. NFT and crypto feel like the early days of the internet again, and I think it’s an amazing opportunity for our generation to be part of something huge.

You recently moved back to Japan, and many of your photographs are of Tokyo, different streets and buildings. What’s your connection to Japan/Tokyo, and why is it special to you?

I first went to Japan in 2008, and it’s been love at first sight. It’s so different than where I grew up. It feels super futuristic at times, and very ancestral simultaneously. There’s something I can’t explain about this country. I could talk about it for hours, but in the end it’s a vibe thing. I think everyone should visit Tokyo at least once in their life.

What about capsule house drew you in? And why are you the Hacker-Maxi?

I’ve been a Seerlight fan for a long time, so when I heard he was working on a collection, it was a no-brainer for me. Also, I discovered Kaejun’s work at the same time, and I think he is also an amazing artist. Has for Hacker maxi, I don’t know haha. I like the post-human the most, and I just thought the hacker was one of the coolest looking ones. I like that it’s an original take on the “Hacker” archetype.

We spoke several times during the creation of your piece. What about the lore and imagery of Capsule House were you able to connect with, and why?

So I knew I wanted to focus on post-human in my piece, but hatched Human had just been teased, so I wanted to integrate the bandit as a wanted poster. It was really cool to work with the creative team on what to add in the piece. I won’t list everything here, but there’s definitely a lot of easter eggs in the piece.
(…there are)

What’s on the artistic horizon for you?

Take a lot of photos!!! I was in Japan for the last time in 2019, so it’s been itching me for a long time. Once I feel like I have a killer photo, I’ll definitely start working on a new edition piece. I hope to create something new by July.

As I go through these interviews, I want to ask each artist the same question: What are some of the misconceptions you could/would share to collectors who are not into NFTs, and further, ones that ridicule artists for creating their own?

I prefer to stay positive and not get into controversial topics. But the one thing I’ll say is that some people seem to think that NFT is only about PFP projects. But there are so many artists who can make a living out of their art now, either with 1/1s or edition works. So yeah, please support artists that you love!

I want to thank TokyoLuv for sharing his time, and love for the Capsule House IP with us. He is a true artist, and a wonderful person, and I’m fortunate to have met him. Thank you all for approving these proposals and giving us the benefit to collect these pieces of art, and granting these artists a platform to test their skills and work with us. Thank you.

Author: TheLastBaron | Twitter

--

--