Be Kind, Rewind — “The Lovely Bones”

The Lovely Bones
January 16th, 2010
Regal Hunt Valley
Hunt Valley, MD
4:10pm

If you’ll notice the (faded) timestamp on the bottom of the ticket, I was late to this movie. Not late enough to have missed the beginning of the movie or any of the trailers, but late enough to have probably missed Maria Menounos (if Maria Menounos was doing Noovie back in 2010). In this home, we love and support Maria Menounos.

If you know anything about The Lovely Bones, you’re probably thinking that this is not the sort of movie that most sixteen-year-olds are spending a Saturday afternoon watching. It’s based on the book of the same name by Alice Sebold and it’s about a pre-teen girl (Saoirse Ronan) who is murdered and watches from beyond as her family tries to figure out who kidnapped and murdered her.

The murderer? Stanley Tucci.

I don’t remember a lot about this movie, but I honestly thought the murderer was a grungy Ryan Gosling. You mean to tell me that this man murdered little Saoirse Ronan??

Sony Pictures Releasing

It simply cannot be true. Will I rewatch the movie to see Stanley play a murderer? Absolutely not, because Mark Wahlberg is also in this movie and I watched Uncharted last week, so that’s my Wahlberg quota for the year. Kudos, though, to Tucci for getting nominated for an Oscar for playing (who I thought) was a grungy Ryan Gosling.

I think this was also my first Saoirse Ronan movie! Despite seeing a million and one trailers for Atonement a few years prior, I didn’t see that movie until 2019ish. Period pieces weren’t really my jam back in the day. However, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t think about Atonement constantly around that time because of Keira Knightley’s Green Dress™️. Just another tiny piece of the figuring out I’m gay puzzle.

This is part of the Be Kind, Rewind series. A collection of personal essays as told through my movie ticket stub collection. This essay is preceded by The Princess and the Frog and followed by Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief.

Follow me on Twitter, Instagram, and Letterboxd.

--

--