How to Care for a West Highland White Terrier Puppy

Thelma Lawrence
6 min readJul 15, 2019

--

Bringing a new West Highland White Terrier puppy into your life is beyond exciting. If you are like me, you start planning and purchasing toys, a dog bed, treats, etc. well before you even bring the new puppy home. West Highland White Terrier puppies are really no different than other breeds in caring for them while they are are young. One very important trait you must notice right away about your new Westie is their personality. It’s at this time of their life where they learn what they and can’t do. Westies are smart canines. They learn from an early age how far, if at all, they can mold their new family.

Temperament

When you arrive at the breeder’s home to pick up your new Westie puppy, ask about the temperament of both parents. Open the dialogue and don’t be afraid to enquire about parents’ temperament, if they are both calm dogs or is one more high strung than the other. Dogs often take on traits of their parents and that includes temperament. Over the next few weeks, you will also learn about your new Westie puppies temperament. My latest Westie is from a show kennel so I didn’t get her until she was four months old. (Many show breeders don’t release their puppies at the usual 8 weeks. They let them develop and grow to see if they have requirements and temperament for the show ring.) Unfortunately, I was so excited the day I went to collect her, I didn’t ask enough questions about her parents’ temperament.

At home, a few weeks later, I started getting her used to be groomed. As I went to put drops into her ears, she went berserk. Growling, biting, barking; trying to intimidate me so I’d back down. This Westie wanted to show me whose boss and that she was top dog. I’ve owned Westies since I was 10-years old so I’m used to them, but none had ever reacted like this and especially so young. After holding her and letting her growls subside, I finally and successfully applied ear drops. That showed her who was alpha and that’s me. Ever since she has sat quietly when I work on her ears, strip her and do her nails. Although nails she does squirm a bit, but never any growling or showing teeth.

Why am I telling you all of this about the initial grooming struggle? Because it has to do with a Westie’s temperament. Not all Westies are compliant and calm. Even as puppies many Westies try to establish themselves as alpha. If you are weak and don’t pick up on this temperament trait, you will end up with a mean, domineering Westie. I say this as someone who has raised many West Highland White Terriers. Working with their individual temperament when they are young sets the tone for the future.

Potty Training

If you bring your Westie puppy home at 8 weeks old, they should go outside every two hours during the day. You also need to take it out upon waking in the morning, after eating and drinking, and after playing. Experts state you can properly start potty training between 12 and 14 weeks. However, if you adopt an 8-week old, start training it right away so the puppy gets used to going outside. It may catch on at even 10 weeks.

Take PLENTY of small treats outside and once your Westie puppy pees or poops, dramatically praise them and immediately give a treat. My 16-week old Westie most definitely did not come to me potty trained. She acted horrified she had to pee outside in the grass. However, I was determined to break the habit of going inside and I trained in her exactly two weeks.

Everyone’s experience in potty training at West Highland White Terrier is different. I made it my job to make sure she understood that you go outside and not inside. Each time we exited the door, I made sure I had a few delicious treats in my pocket. Once we were down the steps and in the grass, the tone of my voice changed to amazement and I told Sally how wonderful it was to be outside. Pointing out birds and looking up at the sky, I wanted her to know this is a magical place to be; and it truly is since we have deer and rabbits wondering around the grass often. Each outing seemed to take a long time. At first, she didn’t realize we were outside specifically to potty so she’d wonder around and we’d play in the yard with her leash attached. Finally, after 15 or so minutes, she peed. I’d praise and kiss her and quickly gave a treat.

In my case, my secret was taking her outside A LOT. I took her out every hour or half hour. I’m lucky in that my Westie goes to work with me so outdoor time during potty training was much easier. Like I stated above though: I made it my job to oversee that she almost never went inside and that was because I was always taking her outside. Training my Westie to do her business outside was my top priority. I cook meals for extended family and told them I’d be out of service for a few weeks and they had to find food on their own. Although I did promise homemade pizza for a relative and making the dough from scratch, I nearly had a meltdown. The Westie puppy needed to go out, but my hands were wrist deep in dough. This was the first time in days she’d peed in the house. I was angry at myself and angry that I didn’t stick to my original plan and steer all of my free time towards potty training my new West Highland White Terrier puppy.

My advice when potty training a new Westie puppy: Designate a person in the family to oversee all outside potty trips. If that person normally does other household chores, then they are off the hook; someone else will have to take over their duties. It’s the repetition and praise of going outside, PLUS treats, that easily trains a new Westie puppy to potty outside.

The person overseeing the potty training should have no other job at home other than taking out the West Highland White Terrier and making sure it goes number one and number two outside. If the potty training emissary is the cook of the house, then you will have to eat frozen dinners or takeout during the potty training period.

Potty training a Westie is a dedicated, nearly full-time job at home, and the person in charge needs no other household chores during the process. Again, choose one person to take the new Westie puppy out on a set schedule; especially in the morning and after work. That is the potty trainers only responsibility (at home) until the Westie is trained.

Conclusion

Two very important steps in caring for a new West Highland White Terrier puppy are temperament assessment and potty training. A smart Westie will look for any means to have the upper hand. In puppyhood and adolescence if they are indulged and given permission to have an attitude, snap, bite, etc and you don’t discipline them or work with a trainer, be prepared to potentially have a mean Westie as it grows into an adult. Yes, puppyhood is fun and everyone hopes for the experience to be rainbows and unicorns, but it’s also work. Right away, start assessing your new Westie puppy’s attitude and temperament.

Potty training is a good bonding experience between the human and West Highland White Terrier. Start training your Westie to get used to going outside at around 10-weeks. Around 12–14 weeks is when the puppy will start realizing that it should be outside and not inside, but some learn earlier.

If you feel overwhelmed with your puppy, reach out for help. Whether it’s a friend, breeder, or dog trainer, never feel bad if you are unsure on a few topics. Dog people, especially Westie lovers, are always more than eager to help a fellow owner.

--

--