October 23rd — My Home

Carlos the Dwarf
3 min readMar 11, 2024

This is my home. I have no where to live. My home is getting burnt down. It’s not safe.

A vast majority of members in Sigma Nu left the night of the email or the night before the protests. Some left to live at friends, some flew to their parents, some were financially fortunate enough to afford a hotel or quickly sign a new lease. But a few stayed. For what reasons, those are their own.

We’re victimes of this scumbag actions too. Obviously not to the same extent but my mental been fucked up, we’ve been torn down mentally, kids are homeless.

Its also fucking tough, like I stayed in the house along with some others for a few days and by the end I was more worn and degraded then I’ve ever really felt, it just put me in an insane mental space.

On the night of the 23rd, there were multiple incidences of attempted break-ins to DPS.

I called them [DPS] when they were breaking in to my room, like on ladders trying to smash my windows.

“Fuck you we’re going to kill you, you fucking rapist” and “Come down here you fucking coward.”

They said they were monitoring the situation. I said “Hey I’m actually kind of scared they are yelling some very serious threats and I think they are going to get in.”

“LAPD has been called numerous times (confirmed) by us and sororities and they do not and will not come”

The sororities security gaurds all came over and scared them off because DPS never came.

I hit my limit when I thought they were getting in by breaking my window and I was like fuck it I’m defending my room and I was armed with a broom stick and a spray fevered can and then I realized it was time to go.

We made a second run to the house to move XXXX out, and when we got there, we found XXXX laying in the middle of the house, just crying. He told us that while he was sleeping, he woke up to protestors on ladders trying to break in, yelling threats and calling him a rapist. I have yet to see such a macho man cry so hard.

A few days later, the owners of the property unilaterally hired an armed security guard, put up a fence, and tore down the majority of the signage. They were concerned about the ongoing property damage.

Following that night, however, the few remaining individuals living in the house moved out to sleep on friends couches, in living rooms, or with their girlfriends. Leaving the house unoccupied for the remainder of the semester.

--

--