Reporting Memo

Riley Carlson
2 min readOct 1, 2020

--

My story is slowing coming together, this week I had the interview with my main source. Tig of Tig’s Smok’n Pig BBQ and he gave more more ideas on who to talk to in regards to this story. Another source that I am thinking about adding to my story is the perspective of another food truck, maybe Chow Haul, The Rambler, Mama Roots or Oasis Del Norte. Something else that I may add to my story is how to find all the food trucks in Duluth and how many there are, by finding someone in the city office to talk to. This could be a good asset to my story, to add more of the where and how.

From my first interview I have learned that the food truck industry is not struggling, they are in some ways flourishing during this pandemic, which was surprising to me. So I may have to change my original idea of how are they are struggling to how are they flourishing. I learned a little bit about how the food truck industry is like a “small family” and they all help each other out when needed. Tig talked a little bit about how if he can’t make an event he’ll offer it to one of the other food trucks and vice versa, it’s a small community that he is happy to be apart of.

I think my story is directly relevant to what is happening because in some ways the food trucks may not have flourished with out covid pushing them to become more flexible with their own business plans.

--

--