Statues at Mibu-dera Temple, Kyoto, Japan. Photo by Carla Cox, October, 2016.

What is religion anyway?

Carla Cox
3 min readFeb 9, 2017

--

I identify myself as a Christian and I also happen to be white. I also voted a full democratic ticket in November. On November 9th, I was ashamed to show my face for the first time as 80% of white evangelicals voted for a presidential candidate that would provide an excuse for hate crimes to rise across this place I call home. In addition to shame, I have felt angry, confused, and generally sad. However, one very odd result of these feelings is my need to tell my friends what I truly believe to try and separate myself from the other 80%. While this can not serve as an apology or explanation of what has happened, it does help start really great conversations and helps provide some healing. What I have learned over these last few months is something truly phenomenal.

I believe in God. God is love. Heaven and hell are not places, they are states of being. We bring more heaven into our lives and the lives of others by sharing love through words of kindness, acts of service, and generally treating people like they’re valuable. We bring more hell into our lives and the lives of others when we forget to love. Which happens far too often as we become lazy, overwhelmed, and generally forget that other people are human.

I believe Jesus was a human. I have no idea if he was immaculately conceived or how he conducted miracles, but I know he taught me a lot about how to treat others. He taught me how to care for the poor, that change in a highly structured religious system is possible, and that if something is wrong I need to call it out. I also appreciate the teachings of others that have helped me become who I am: John Wesley, Maya Angelou, Siddhartha Buddha, Mother Theresa, and my mom.

I believe in the Holy Spirit. I think the most common name would be the human consciousness; a part of our psyche that helps us determine right from wrong, love from hate, and generally good from bad. It also helps us become disciplined, patient, and empathetic which only comes through practice.

As I share these things that have become truth to me, I have learned that other Christians, Atheists, Agnostics, and Muslims all respond with the same general thing: “that’s what I believe, too, when it really comes down to it”.

You see, it isn’t what you call it, it is how you choose to respond to it. I choose to respond to this human condition by calling this love that I believe in “God”. You may connect with love in a different way. As for me, I will continue to attend a church that embraces me, worship through music that brings me energy and joy, and share with others what I believe and why it is important to me.

My hope in sharing this short declaration is that others in the 20% of white evangelicals will also step up, share what they believe, and share love to all those who are currently scared, uncertain, and cast down. It is our responsibility as believers in the God of love to speak up against hate, protect our friends from wrongful oppression, and work to redeem ourselves by adding our voices to the political atmosphere.

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.” ~Maya Angelou~

--

--