FIRE

cs
2 min readNov 22, 2018

--

Fire… often gets a bad rap. But it too can be cleansing and purifying other than its “destructive” use. It could be as small as a twinkle from a tea light or as big as the fires from the forest fires you hear about on the news. Since the dawn of time, we have been indebted for the way that we’ve manipulated fire: for heat, for burning, for warmth.

But really, how can fire be defined for the complex nature that it truly is from what we have been developing and refining since the dawn of man? Chemistry defines fire as the result of a combustion reaction, a great deal of exothermic energy being produced at once. So that must mean that something must trigger a fire for it to start its ablaze.

I am fire.

Taken at The Broad Museum in Los Angeles, CA (November 4, 2016)

Pure and wild, scorching and illuminating. It’s all going to burn!

It’s all going to blaze in my glory of glowing red-hot ember. Once I get my hands on anything, I get to consume more and more of it until it all becomes mine, and all that is left of it is wistful black ash. Destruction is a friend to me. However, I am limited; I cannot burn water or perseverance. In fact, I am weaker than what my strengths allow. An utter breeze can push me away to extinguish me or to push me further to burn some more. But it’s usually the former. Humans managed to tame me down much like a circus performer can tame down his lion. I guess all tough guys have a sweet spot. I am your mood lighting for a romantic dinner, I am your slowly roasted barbecue meat on a warm summer afternoon, I am the smoky bonfires that you can smell after the sun sets away from the gilded coast.

So I guess there are two sides of me…it’s better to be on the right side.

--

--

cs
0 Followers

Some writing from past classes, notes on my iPhone, and things that make it past the draft