The Conversation that walked, or how making films happens just like that.

Carlos Domeque
5 min readMay 4, 2017

--

As my generation is probably destined to be only able to retire at the age of 80, it will only be then that I will write my memoirs. However, when I do, one thing is certain, the title for the section on the micro budget adventure that is our film Trevor, will be, of course, a film reference, it will be called The Conversation.

Over a year ago I was writing articles for an online magazine about art and lifestyle in Barcelona. Looking for ideas on what to write about I contacted a quirky looking guy I had met at a filmmakers group. I arranged to meet with Hunter Tremayne at his home to do an interview about the English language theatre company he runs with his wife Georgina in Barcelona. As we spoke we realised we both came from North London and once the interview bit was concluded we carried on talking about our old haunts in that blessed part of the world. By the second bottle of wine we were chatting about favourite films and I mentioned an idea I had for a film based on one of my first weekends after moving to Spain.

Looking for ideas on what to write about I contacted a quirky looking guy I had met at a filmmakers group.

Newly arrived with my partner and our son at a little house in the country where we proposed to settle, we received an impromptu visit from family. Not a big deal in itself, but their arrival was followed by the worst storm in Catalonia for thirty years. With roads blocked by fallen trees, power lines down and storm winds day and night, we were all confined to the house with no power or water for three unforgettable days of strained small talk and growing family tensions.

Viewed with the relief of hindsight the whole thing comes across as surreal and hysterical. Viewed with the benefit of, by that point, bottle number three of wine, sitting in a balcony on a pleasant Spring evening, we concluded that it was a great basis for a movie and that was The Conversation that started it all.

Over the next few weeks we tried to meet once a week, throw ideas around and bring actors on board so that each could build a character loosely based on the original protagonists in the original story. The intention was for the storyline to grow out from the dynamic between these newly formed roles.

During one of these reunions, as we sat chatting and brainstorming excitedly, there was a power cut in the whole street and we found ourselves in the dark just like the characters we were talking about. This serendipitous event was so timely that we knew then the gods were definitely with us. Wishing to capitalize on this good omen, when the power came back an hour later, we simply flicked the main fuse off and continued the meeting by candle light.

I had decided early on not to impose a fixed plot or characters, and instead encouraged all involved to bring ideas to the table. Once the list of characters was defined the plot began to draw itself, always remaining close to the original themes of comic misunderstanding, enforced confinement, family tensions. Probably because the setting was an isolated house in the country, with a power cut and in the middle of a storm, the film began heading towards comedy horror.

The whole process was a wonder to behold, each meeting was animated and great fun, concluding with a summing up of what we had achieved and then setting down some bullet points on what to tackle at the next gathering.

Summer arrived, the actors were getting busy with work, Georgina was selected for competition in UK and got caught up with that, and I started a new job. The meetings became harder to organise, but by that stage we had a solid basis from which to put down on paper a first draft of a script. Hunter decided to take up the challenge and asked for some weeks to set a draft on paper. A brave intention, it kept on getting delayed as, happily for him, he began to get a lot of work at that point. Around the same time I began to feel very run down, sleeping badly, I stopped enjoying my food, after a week like this I popped into the doctors after work. She shone a light into my eye and simply said: you’re turning yellow.

It’s few times in life I’ve had a real-life flashback of such power. Twenty years previously another general practitioner had said the same thing as they diagnosed me with hepatitis. I knew the score, months sequestered at home eating very bland food, no meat or chocolate, or booze and now petrified that I may have a chronic propensity to the disease. So that was me, I live four streets from the beach, it took me six weeks before I could walk that far to breath the sea air.

During that time I got a message from Georgina saying that if it was OK she wanted to have a go at the script from the notes we had all made. Too weak to shout with joy I just about managed to type a brief affirmative with a smiley face on it.

The August heat gave way to a pleasant Mediterranean September and with it my return to good health. Able to leave the house again I met with Georgina and Hunter to read through her first draft at their apartment. It was a special moment, at sixty pages, still without an ending, it managed to leave you wanting to read more. Two weeks later the final script was ready, another special moment. Georgina had truly taken all our notes and reworked them to make the story her own. The parody horror element was gone and what we had was a comedy of misunderstandings, which as befits any family dynamic, had compelling elements of drama and humanity. What stood out even more was how she had taken the female characters and given them wonderful strength and presence. A few days later all the actors gathered for a full read through, the text just zinged off the page and as the words The End were read out, the room remained in glowing silence. I’m not sure what the others were thinking at just then, but for me it was clear, this baby has legs.

And so it was that a conversation by two North Londoners on a Barcelona balcony, now stood up and walked, embarking on the adventure towards its final destination on the silver screen. Dragging me with it along this journey that is still ongoing. If you want to read more on how this story unfolds, tune in to my next instalment and have a look the film webpage here, if you really feel a buzz of anticipation then sign up to our mailing list. Bye for now.

--

--

Carlos Domeque

Born in Caracas, grew up in London, ran away to Barcelona.