Top 10 Flower Care Tips You Need to Know

From a very successful florist and floral design book author (that’s me!)

Carly Cylinder
3 min readAug 12, 2020

The question I’m asked the most is, “How do I make my flowers last longer?”

Those super cheap roses that you bought may have been grown in really bad mass-produced conditions, which lead to a weaker flower.

When you buy organic, or flowers grown in a more sustainable way, they will probably last longer.

Leaving those buds in front of a window on a hot summer day? Yep, those babies will start to droop.

Here are my favorite tips that will allow you to enjoy your fresh flowers longer:

Change the water every day.

Everyday?! Well, at least every other day. By far, the best way to prolong flowers is to change the water, so that they can drink fresh water and rehydrate. Have an arrangement? Flush out the water by placing the whole vase under the faucet.

Cut the stems on a slant.

--

--

Carly Cylinder

I’m happy you’re here! Business advice, floral design, and useful resources. Get my 3 Favorite Email Templates I personally use: https://www.carlycylinder.com/