I Can’t Stand Your Productivity Articles

They Are a Waste of My Time

Carma Barre
7 min readOct 16, 2018
“person holding white mini bell alarmclock” by Lukas Blazek on Unsplash

Here’s the base, bottom line. I HATE productivity articles.

Okay, if we’re being completely honest… I love them.

But I don’t love them because they help me. I don’t love them because they’ve given me a new way of being productive in my life that’s exciting. I don’t love them because I feel inspired…

I love them because they distract me from being productive.

Okay… If you haven’t left me already, I’m going to ask you stay with me a little longer while I break this one down.

First and foremost.

I consider myself a very productive person for the most part. I know what works for me. I have spent my life trial-and-erroring, I pretty much know what works at this point. This means I’ve screwed up. A lot. This also means that I had to grapple with the realization that I myself was the own product of my inability to get work done.

No tips, tricks, or magic sticks solved my inability to get things done. It came with just some old-fashioned self-awareness.

This realization started in high school…

I was attending community college courses during my junior and senior year of high school. I came from a…

--

--

Carma Barre

I like to take words and make coherent sentences with them. [A writer discussing the chaos that is living and everything in between.]