It’s Okay to Write a 2–3 Minute Article

Actually, It’s Much Appreciated

Carma Barre
2 min readAug 17, 2018
Photo by Icons8 team on Unsplash

As much as I LOVE the in-depth pieces that Medium writers spend hours preparing for my eyes… I like the short articles too.

Don’t get me wrong… I definitely appreciate and respect the work that goes into those pieces — the hours of research, the citing, the perfecting… I get it. Your work is not going unnoticed.

But…

The reality is that most of us have exceptionally busy lives.

I used to work three jobs and do my best to make writing regularly one of them.

Life is just plain busy.

I know for a fact that even though most times I really want to read that ten-minute article, the truth is that I don’t always have the time to do so.

Sorry, lengthy and detailed writers… You still do great work!

This post is for those short-and-sweet writers that remember sometimes I only have three minutes to spare.

Thank you for working so hard and still managing to make something that takes all of three minutes to read, worth every second.

Thank you for spending my free time with me.

Thank you for putting your heart and soul into everything you do, no matter how brief.

Thank you for being considerate of my time, and understanding that I so badly want to support long works of writing but that there’s only so many minutes in the day.

Thank you for getting to the point, and for streamlining your thoughts.

Thank you be writing truly beautiful things.

Thank you for sharing this world of writers with me.

Thank you for being you…

Sometimes, you just need to be thanked for being who you are, and today I really just want to thank you.

--

--

Carma Barre

I like to take words and make coherent sentences with them. [A writer discussing the chaos that is living and everything in between.]